Apple Puff Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I have never made a puff pancake before, or eaten one. I made it exactly like the recipe but three of the eggs I used were duck eggs. When I took it out of the oven the first time it looked too runny so I left it in for 10 minutes more. It still seemed not quite done and when I tried to dish it up the egg in the middle gushed out to fill in the hole where the spoon had been. We were able to eat the extreme corners and I put it back in the oven probably for about 20 more minutes which made the cooking time about doubled. When I finally took it out it was really yummy, especially the apples with the brown sugar. I wish the original recipe would have been correct. I would probably add more flour and cook it in a bigger pan. Usually the duck eggs don't make a big difference, so I don't think that affected the recipe very much. I would think a puff pancake would have some pancake characteristics. It seemed like an egg bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I've tried making a few different apple puff pancakes and this is the best one yet. I think other recipes are too eggy in flavor but this one has a nice balanced sweetness and the brown sugar topping caramelizes nicely to provide a light, sweet crunch on top too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was a lot more dense than the traditional puffed apple pancake recipe I usually make from a recipe from my husband's grandmother. Not as good as grandma's recipe, but still good. It makes a pretty big pan and is extremely filling. Like some of the other reviewers mentioned, I also mixed the brown sugar into the apples at the bottom of the pan which gave it a nice caramel coating. Make sure you are hungry when you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I agree with others about taking longer for the middle to cook. Either use a larger pan or cook for 15 mins longer. I made it for dinner and served it with fried potatoes and bacon. A nice treat, no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I loved this recipe... easy to make in the morning which is always good. Although I dont know how you would do it in a 9x9 or round... it filled me 9x13! I added 1/3 cup of flour (i dont know if that made a difference) and 1 tsp of sugar... i was making it for a crowd of sweet tooths. And i also added the brown sugar to the apples and cooked them for 10 min as Carie suggested--turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Pretty good recipe. I followed the directions exactly as written and it turned out fine. I have a similar recipe from a Crisco cookbook that I like a lot better. You partially cook the apples first and it has more flavor. But I like to try new ones, just in case. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Yum! great recipe for family brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Great recipe! This is a classic and one that lends itself well to any number of variations. We make a version of the puff pancake in individual ramekins. This is a quick and easy weekend morning treat! Cheers, Steve & Jason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
SO YUMMY! We love German (Puff) Pancakes at our house and with a couple of apples hiding in the crisper, I just had to make it. I followed this recipe, using the changes that Caire suggested, I only used 1 cup of milk (which if normally what I use when making German Pancakes. It was fantastic -- warm and custardy and appley. With salty bacon and cold milk, it's a great Brinner (breakfast for dinner) meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was just as many said..."Too eggy"...I would not make again...I prefer something more crusty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States