Apple Puff Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was awesome. I've been hunting for the recipe for this stuff that is similar to what they taught us how to make in Home Ec class years ago. This was it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Awesome! My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aldo
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Four stars rather than five simply because I modified it slightly (using more apples and tossing them with some cinnamon and nutmeg before layering them in the pan - some of Caire's suggestions). I baked this in a deep, 9-inch pie pan which was the perfect size and made for a nice presentation. (Photo posted) The final product was a custard-like bottom layer with a layer of apples (they rise to the top) on top and a soft, bread-like crust. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aldo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
AMAZING!!! I used the Claire's changes and it was a huge hit. (Plus I changed the eggs to 4 eggs and 4 egg whites) Light and fluffy yet just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
It was good, but didn't taste as I had anticipated. Very, very egg-like flavor. Could use more cinnamon, and honestly it would probably taste a lot better with some syrup on it like a regular pancake. (Followed the recipe exactly as shown).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
My nine year old got to take the first bite and I heard her shout,"this is soooo good!" That told me it was a success! I read some of the reviews and went by what a few people said, I reduced the milk to 1 cup, I also used only 1/2cup of all-purpose flour and added 1/2 cup of whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little more healthy. I substituted Stevia sweetener for the sugar for health purposes, and increased the cinnamon to 1/2tsp because we love cinnamon. This kind of reminded me of a caramelized apple upside down cake i make for Thanksgiving and I decided to caramelize the apples in the butter and brown sugar and drizzled a little honey over it and let that simmer on low heat for a couple minutes and flipped the apples over and let them finish caramelizing for a couple more minutes. I didn't have a 9x9in square pan so I just used a 9inch pie plate. I sprayed it with cooking spray first, thank goodness I did, poured the apples on the bottom and then poured the batter on top. I had to cook it for 23 minutes for it to get done all the way and it was beautiful when it came out. We loved it, didn't even need to put syrup on it. I will definitely make this again using my tweaks. Yummy and healthy, can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaladez3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This kind of pancake was good with apples, but this recipe has too much milk. I didn't understand what some of the reviewers meant about it having a custard-like texture, and since I like custard, I thought I'd try it anyway. In the end, the correct description for the texture is mushy and odd. Most other recipes for puff pancakes use 1 cup of milk with the same (or similar) amount of eggs and flour, so simply reducing the milk to 1 cup should take care of the problem. Even so, I'll stick with another recipe for puff pancakes and add the apples myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This has become one of my favorite meals to make for brunch. It is very unique and everyone always gets excited about! I will also make it with blueberry pie filling instead of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shine124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I have never made a puff pancake before, or eaten one. I made it exactly like the recipe but three of the eggs I used were duck eggs. When I took it out of the oven the first time it looked too runny so I left it in for 10 minutes more. It still seemed not quite done and when I tried to dish it up the egg in the middle gushed out to fill in the hole where the spoon had been. We were able to eat the extreme corners and I put it back in the oven probably for about 20 more minutes which made the cooking time about doubled. When I finally took it out it was really yummy, especially the apples with the brown sugar. I wish the original recipe would have been correct. I would probably add more flour and cook it in a bigger pan. Usually the duck eggs don't make a big difference, so I don't think that affected the recipe very much. I would think a puff pancake would have some pancake characteristics. It seemed like an egg bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States