Apple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I took this to our family Halloween get-together and everyone raved about it! I left out the raisins, added a touch extra nutmeg, and used chopped hazlenuts because we didn't have any almonds. Still turned out beautiful. Oh, I also baked it in a loaf pan. Beautiful and delicious fall dish, I am baking more this week to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Very tasty and moist. A big hit a Thanksgiving...I used walnuts instead of almonds. No raisins either. Well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caramela
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
WOW! This cake is really delicious! No need to make the glaze, it's pretty sweet on its own. If it's oily for you, you can cut the amount of oil by 1/4 cup without having to adjust the flour. I have made this several times and it always comes out perfect despite minor changes here and there. Some recommendations: add more cinnamon and nutmeg, try it with walnuts or other nuts instead of almonds. My husband loves this cake! Many thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Photo by cookie9035
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Excellant this is a keeper for me! I didn't have all for the topping so just made a cream cheese glaze over it. Very very good! 5 stars plus! And liked the almond flavor but am going to try this next time with some chopped walnuts....thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie9035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This cake is great.I did add 1/2 more spices than listed and added 2 tbs orange juice as suggested by someone else.I also added about 1/4 cup chopped almonds to the glaze.I glazed the cake while it was still warm.I couldn't even wait till the cake was cool before I had to cut a slice and taste it.All I can say is WOW!!!!My husband also had a warm slice and loved it.It sort of fell apart when I cut it but that was probably my fault because the cake had not cooled. I will absolutely make this cake agin.Everyone should really try this.YUMMY!!!!!!!!! Edit: I made this cake again for the second time.I used apples take I had frozen earlier.It was just as good.I sent my mother this recipe and she tried it and also lovrd it.I think I will try it again using bananas. I will let you know how it comes out when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
When this came out of the oven, I was really worried as it looked extremely dry. The glaze though perfected it. It was rich and moist just like a pound cake should be. I omitted the raisins and nuts due to allergies, baked it in a 9 x 3 round pan, and also iced it with a homemade caramel frosting. Excellent treat that brightened up a gloomy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very easy and delicious. I substituted walnuts for the almonds and left out the raisins. I also added a little all spice. Was worried at first about it being dry. But was pleasantly surprised at how moist and tasty it was. Glaze definitely added to it. Was proud when my mother-in-law had seconds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This a very oily cake..I followed the recipe,..and I think with cutting the oil in half with butter or apple sauce..might work fine, but I wont make this again without some changes and I have made 100s of cakes...but my mom like it...thats not saying much...she doesnt want to hurt my feelings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this in a bundt pan last week for the first time, and my household guests ate it up with huuuuge raves! It was fantastic!! Tonight i made it differently, substitutung half the oil with applesauce, and baking in two loaf pans for 45 minutes, and that turned out just right for that size. This is a wonderful autumn celebration cake!!! I was worried also the first time because the crusty outside was so hard......until the glaze did its magic! This time I poked the cake while it was still slightly warm, and i didn't have to jab so hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I recently went to an apple orchard so I had a ton of left over apples that I need to use. This cake was very good!! I added a little more apples than asked for and I also added nutmeg and allspice. I was out off apple juice or cider so I just made a powder sugar glaze. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States