Apple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
When I think of pound cake, I think of a cake generally made with butter, with a compact, moist and tender crumb, a great choice for sculpted(carved) cakes because its sturdy, dense structure lends itself so well to that. This cake is good - but in my frame of reference is NOT a pound cake. It is heavy with oil, fruit and nuts and even becomes more moist (think "wet") because it is saturated with the Apple Cider Glaze. It might just be subjective taste preferences at work here, because there's nothing "wrong" with the recipe, but it's a little too heavy and wet for me, and misleading since it's not the pound cake one would expect from its name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by bludmn79
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe for the most part. The only changes I made were using 1/4 cup of apple cider in the batter, and using some of the leftover chopped apples in the glaze. I sauted them in a little butter, then added the cider and the sugar, and I added a teaspoon of cornstarch to thicken it a bit. I also added teaspoon of Calvados to the glaze as it cooked. End result: Nommilicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Made a few changes to this cake, instead of baking soda I added twice the amount of baking powder, and added 1 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of apple sauce so it wouldn't be so oily. Still turned out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Love this cake! Made this on a whim and my husband loves it. He says it reminds him of German apple breakfast cake. I did cut oil and add applesauce as suggested. I did not add nuts or raisins and baked it in a bundt pan. The glaze was not thick but I soaked cake with 1/2 and discarded the rest. I will definitely make this again. TFS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamcan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Our family liked this quite a lot. While the batter was stiff, I found that if I let it sit a few minutes after adding the apples, raisins and nuts (I used walnuts, was what I had), it loosened up a bit and I was able to stir them in easily. I used 3 large Rome Beauty apples because that's what I had on hand. My fluted tube pan was only a 9" one, so I put the remainder of the batter into an 8x8 and baked it about 30 minutes. Since I had 2 pans to glaze, I doubled the glaze, boiled it until syrupy, and then glazed both cakes before removing from the pans. An excellent vehicle for our fall apple bounty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I had a couple of problems. First the cake fell apart when I tried to remove it from pan. You need to cool it much longer than 15 min. Also, the glaze wasn't a glaze. It's like a syrup. I followed the directions exactly and let it simmer for like 30 min and it never got thicker. So not sure what it's supposed to look like but it's def. not like the picture. I think the walnuts make the cake. I prefer them to almonds so I made with walnuts and one batch without. Not the same without nuts. I cut the oil in half and sub'd app sauce. So, I think the directions aren't very good but the recipe is very tastey. Also, how small to chop the apples?? No idea if that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
delicious! I left out the nuts and raisins because I didn't have them on hand, but it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This pound cake is delicious! I have never tasted better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I recently went to an apple orchard so I had a ton of left over apples that I need to use. This cake was very good!! I added a little more apples than asked for and I also added nutmeg and allspice. I was out off apple juice or cider so I just made a powder sugar glaze. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this in a bundt pan last week for the first time, and my household guests ate it up with huuuuge raves! It was fantastic!! Tonight i made it differently, substitutung half the oil with applesauce, and baking in two loaf pans for 45 minutes, and that turned out just right for that size. This is a wonderful autumn celebration cake!!! I was worried also the first time because the crusty outside was so hard......until the glaze did its magic! This time I poked the cake while it was still slightly warm, and i didn't have to jab so hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States