Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
The first time I made this recipe, I thought the sauce was too watery at serving time. (I make it in a covered corning ware glass dish--maybe that made a difference?!?!) I've made it several times since, and now I always double the brown sugar, mustard and cloves, but keep the water at 3/4 cup. I think it tastes richer this way. We all love it. Also, I've made it both with fresh apples and also with canned. Both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
After reading all the negative rewiews, I almost didn't try this recipe. I am really glad that I did. Here's what I did. I sauted the onions and apple slices in butter, then put them in my crock pot. Next I browned the pork chops in a little butter and cooking spray, and put them on top of the apple mixture. I put about 2 cups of chunky applesauce on top of the chops, then poured the spices (doubled) and 3/4 cup of apple juice on top. I cooked it on low for about 10 hours. We LOVED the flavor! Some of the reviews said there was no flavor in the meat, but using the crock pot let the flavors soak into the meat wonderfully! Try it this way and I'm sure you will agree. Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I also read the reviews to get useful tips - thank you users for your ideas! I first covered the pork chops in chopped onion, minced garlic and pepper and let them season in the refrigerator all afternoon. I came home from work, sauteed them in a skilled and transferred them to a baking dish. I placed the apple slices on top and poured my modified sauce. I used orange juice instead of water; added cinnamon as well as cloves; used prepared sweet hot mustard; added more brown sugar and added about 2 tablespoons of flour. I whisked this all together and poured over the top. I then added several baby carrots wherever they would fit in the dish. WONDERFUL! The sauce was thick like gravy, sweet and was excellent! Although I don't like baked apples, they added some terrific flavor and I would not leave them out. Make some garlic-herb roasted buttered potato chunks and you have a quick meal that can baked while you unwind after a long day at work! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
These were the best ever, but i changed it a bit. i left out the water and used extra chunky applesauce and cinnamon insteas of cloves. Using the applesauce saved time from chopping the apples and makes it moister. this is one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
After reading just the first page of reviews, it was obvious to see that people either really liked or didn't like this recipe. I read through many reviews and these are the tips that I culled which worked great for me. I replaced the water with apple juice (I think cider would taste the best though!) and replaced the cloves with cinammon. I let the pork chops marinate in the mixture all day. Since I was using small boneless pork chops, I used a smaller baking dish than was called for so that the marinade was almost to the top of the pork chops. I cooked covered for 20 minutes and uncovered for 20 more (probably could have gone 5 minutes less). During the last 5 minutes, I pushed the apples and onions down in the juice to cook. It was a great dish this way. The meat was flavorful and tender and the apples were delicious. I think the onions were something I could do without if I didn't have one. If you're not a huge onion fan, skip these - I think you'll enjoy it more! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I thought i would give this recipe a try, as something different to do with some pork chops. BOY was i surprised, both of my roomates LOVED it and went back for second and thirds. I really liked the mixing of flavors of the onions and apples. I substituted a few things, like spicy mustard and added cinnamon as well. I also sauteed the apples with the onions for just a little bit just to help them acquire some more flavor. This was an overall WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I suggest using thick chops, 1 1/4", marinating overnite in the sauce, and bake for 30 minutes at 425 degress. I also suggest using apple juice instead of water and doubling the spices. I made twice as much sauce (so i quadrupled the spices) in order to cover the thick chops. i used a clove-cinnamon mix and i also added some flour to thicken the sauce. Frenching the bone (removing all of the meat from the end of the bone with the back of a knife) adds a nice touch and the presentation is worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Wow! This was really Good! It was quick and easy and my kids even loved it. Hubby and son went back for seconds and even thirds. I used a very cheap cut of pork steak and it worked great with that meat too. I also thicken the juice the meat cooked in with cornstartch and poured over the top. Yumm yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Fast,easy a nice mild taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I loved the flavor of this dish. The apple consistency was mushy, but tasty, and goes great with the onions. I would double the onions and cut the water in half because the apples add plenty of moisture! Would definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States