Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Couldn't find my apple pork chop recipe so I went on-line. This was the first one that popped up, I had all the ingredients so I tried it. It was great and I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to entice my father-in-law, who is going through chemo for advanced cancer, to eat. This did it! I left off the onions, because of the gas they generate as he has horrible problems with it and cooked it in my crockpot. I was running behind, so I browned the boneless chops and threw them in the crock while it was heating and mixed some of spices with enough applesauce to just cover them. (I salted & peppered before browning.) I only had Fuji apples, and 1 reviewer who used them did not have good results, so a quick trip to the store and I got red delicious apples. Brought them home, peeled, cored and sliced using food processor, sauted in butter, poured over the chops and then sprinkled cinnamin, cloves & nutmeg over them and let them cook. They were very tender and Dad actually ate a 2nd chop! My hubby liked them too as did everyone else. Thank you MNKENNEY for a recipe that even cancer patients with little to no appetite can enjoy and is healthy for them as well! UPDATE: I used apple cider instead of water and put all he spices and brown sugar in it and marinated in the frig. I only meant to do it for 2 hours, but something came up and it was 24 hours before I could cook it. Wow! This was soooo tender and the apple taste was all through it. I cheated and used apple pie filling instead of slicing apples myself, adding them in the last 15 minutes. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I have a similar recipe from my time in Europe - I use apple juice instead of water. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
We loved this! Followed another review and sauteed apples & (dried) onions in butter; then sauteed pork chops, then put into slow cooker with spices/sugar. Covered with applesauce and a little water, cooked on high for a couple of hours then turned to low for maybe an hour or two. Perfect blend of flavors! Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is good, but the onions sort of over power the apples. Try adding much less onions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
The cloves are overpowering and make it very unenjoyable, especially since it's covered during cooking. The cloves infuse into the apples, onions & sauce causing the spice to over-shadow any of the other ingredients in the dish. The pork however, is very tender. Rinsed the sauce off the chops & they were tolerable; This is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was very good, but I realized that I prefer a more savory flavor with my pork rather than sweet. Everything tasted great, it's simply on the sweet side. That being said, I would definitely serve this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I changed it a little by sauteing the apple and onion in a little butter. Then I sauteed six pork chops in the sauce pan. I took the brown sugar, mustard, cloves, pork chops and the apple/onion mixture and put it in a crock pot. The salt was eliminated because it wasn't needed in my opinion. Instead of water I put in 3/4 cup of unsweetened apple sauce. I cooked it on low for four hours. It was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe. It will be a family favorite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yummy! I followed a combination of suggestions and paired this with boxed Cranberry stuffing. My family loved it! I doubled the brown sugar, used 1/8 tsp cloves, 1/8 tsp cinnamon. I heated the water in the microwave, added the spices and gradually mixed in some flour to thicken everything up. I also used canned apples. The chop dish came out a bit sweet for my liking (the hubby really enjoyed it) so the salty stuffing helped balance the meal. I'm sure we'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
We thought the pork chops were extremely bland. They were tasteless. I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States