Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I suggest using thick chops, 1 1/4", marinating overnite in the sauce, and bake for 30 minutes at 425 degress. I also suggest using apple juice instead of water and doubling the spices. I made twice as much sauce (so i quadrupled the spices) in order to cover the thick chops. i used a clove-cinnamon mix and i also added some flour to thicken the sauce. Frenching the bone (removing all of the meat from the end of the bone with the back of a knife) adds a nice touch and the presentation is worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Found this recipe too much work for the results. My family enjoyed plain ordinary Apricot/Pineapple Jam spread on the chops 5 minutes before removal from oven, delicious and sweeter tasting. Try it - It's better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I also thought it was too watery. Not a lot of flavor. Maybe I should have used Granny Smith apples. My husband added more b.sugar to his pork chop because he could barely taste it...and he doesn't like a lot of sweets. I guess I thought the sauce would be a lot thicker...it's not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Very disappointed. I made exactly as recipe directed. Sauce was basically flavored water. Couldn't taste the onions at all. We ate them, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I made these last night and they turned out pretty good. The pork chops by themselves weren't very flavorful, but the apples and sauce really made the difference. After reading other reviews, I changed the recipe slightly. I doubled the chopped onion, I used apple juice instead of water, I used 4 tablespoons of brown sugar and added 1/8 tsp of cinnamon to the other spices. The flavor was perfect. I hope they're even better warmed up tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVEYM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This is the third time I have received this recipe as the Daily Dish and unfortunately I made it the first two times, not recognizing it the second time. This is the only time I have made a recipe from this site that didn't taste good. We thought this was so bad that my kids wouldn't eat it and I could barely get it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I tried this recipe as shown, then modified it. When browning the onions I lightly added flavoured sea salt, and the result was the flavours transferred to the pork chops during their browning. I also lightly browned the apple slices in the meat/onion residue adding a tiny bit of salt to the apples(apples benefit from a little salt during cooking otherwise they are bland.) I covered the seasoned chops with the apples and onions as suggested but before I added the sauce I combined the brown sugar, mustard and cloves reduced salt and WHITE pepper(I always use white pepper with light coloured meats) with a tbsp of corn starch and added the water. It turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
AWESOME! Everyone loved it . . . even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I USE THINNER BONELESS PORK CHOPS. THIS IS VERY TASTY AND EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Interesting, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States