Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Found this recipe too much work for the results. My family enjoyed plain ordinary Apricot/Pineapple Jam spread on the chops 5 minutes before removal from oven, delicious and sweeter tasting. Try it - It's better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I also thought it was too watery. Not a lot of flavor. Maybe I should have used Granny Smith apples. My husband added more b.sugar to his pork chop because he could barely taste it...and he doesn't like a lot of sweets. I guess I thought the sauce would be a lot thicker...it's not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Very disappointed. I made exactly as recipe directed. Sauce was basically flavored water. Couldn't taste the onions at all. We ate them, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I made these last night and they turned out pretty good. The pork chops by themselves weren't very flavorful, but the apples and sauce really made the difference. After reading other reviews, I changed the recipe slightly. I doubled the chopped onion, I used apple juice instead of water, I used 4 tablespoons of brown sugar and added 1/8 tsp of cinnamon to the other spices. The flavor was perfect. I hope they're even better warmed up tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVEYM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This is the third time I have received this recipe as the Daily Dish and unfortunately I made it the first two times, not recognizing it the second time. This is the only time I have made a recipe from this site that didn't taste good. We thought this was so bad that my kids wouldn't eat it and I could barely get it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I tried this recipe as shown, then modified it. When browning the onions I lightly added flavoured sea salt, and the result was the flavours transferred to the pork chops during their browning. I also lightly browned the apple slices in the meat/onion residue adding a tiny bit of salt to the apples(apples benefit from a little salt during cooking otherwise they are bland.) I covered the seasoned chops with the apples and onions as suggested but before I added the sauce I combined the brown sugar, mustard and cloves reduced salt and WHITE pepper(I always use white pepper with light coloured meats) with a tbsp of corn starch and added the water. It turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
AWESOME! Everyone loved it . . . even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I USE THINNER BONELESS PORK CHOPS. THIS IS VERY TASTY AND EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Interesting, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
I read several reviews before making this dish; I followed other peoples ideas such as omitting the mustard, and doubling up on the brown sugar, and using cinnamen. I also added honey. People had previously noted the sauce being "Thin", however they should have compared its consistency to water. The overall flavor was good, but barely there. (Literally) Boyfriend felt the same. I will try this one more time, but I will use applesauce instead of water, to try and thicken the sauce up some. The thickening of the sauce may be key. FYI: DO NOT USE GRANNY SMITH. (Too sour for such a sweet recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States