Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a good recipe, but the sauce is too runny and needs to be thickened. I added two tablespoons of flour, but that still wasn't enough as I ended up having what looked like pork chops in water. I will add more flour next time or possibly try cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I made this with bone-in pork chops. It was simple and easy. I am not a big pork eater, but my boyfriend ate three of the four and thought it was delicious. The apples and sauce were delicious. Four stars because the sauce was a bit watery. The pork chops were very juicy and tender because of the sauce however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is a nice dish to throw in the oven and take a nap. I see some of the pros and cons the other reviews mentioned. I sauteed onions and apples together and then set aside while I browned the chops (3/4 thick). Put chops in baking dish and covered with apples and onion. I was in super hurry so instead of sauce I poured in 3/4 cup of apple cider. I left the chops in for 40 minutes and it was just a touch dry, but not much. Next time I will do 30 minutes. I pulled out the apples and onions with a slotted spoon and did not use the cider sauce. I know others complained about it being mush, but I liked it since the recipe makes its own apple/onion relish. I did like this recipe for the speed, just be careful not to over bake. It is also a nice change from the usual pork sautee I normally do. When working with thick chops a baking recipe like this is about all you can do. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was to die for. I used apple cider for water and double the spices by suggestion of another viewer and it was good. I'd use less cloves and a little cinnamon next time. Served it with scalloped potatoes and it was fabulous. I did think it could cook a little more and left it in another 15 min. I can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My husband made this so he gets the credit. It turned out good... for those of you who find it dry I think maybe you were browning them too long? Let the oven do most of the work and its nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
For everyone who had dry chops, you may have overcooked them in the frying pan. You should sear them quickly,the inside should not be thouroughly cooked,they will finish in the oven. I added a little brown sugar while I was sauteing the onions, they will brown better, adding more flavor. A sprinkle of Emerils "Bayou Blast" also adds wonderful flavor.They were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monica43

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I used the crockpot to slowcook mine. They were terrific, but I don't recomment eating the apples they were really mushy. I might try quartering my apples next time instead of slicing. Adding apple juice instead of water made a big difference also. I will surely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
When I make chops I usually use apples and cider vinegar but I cant stand the smell, so I thought this recipe would be a nice change. It was pretty good, but not enought flavor. Next time I will maranade in cider vinager then follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Excellent. Even my picky husband likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
When ever I read such mixed reviews. I have to try it... I fixed it for dinner tonight. I think I'm right in the middle. I didn't do it the way the recipe stated. I did my own thing. I used pork sirlon not pork chops. I carmelized the apples and the onions in butter mostly and a little oil. I added brown sugar, a little cinnamon and sugar, cider vinegar, and the mustard. Didn't have the nutmeg. Sorry, I have forgotten what the recipe stated..I floured the pork sirloin, added a little brown sugar to the flour, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Browned them, then added the apples and the onions. Did not make the sauce separate...I really don't think it would have made any difference. It was just okay. Nothing special at all... Would I make it again? Probally not. Hubby liked it, but he likes anything. I'm the critic not him...Try your own spin on it, if anybody is going to be making it... Enjoy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States