Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this apple pie more than once and it has always been a hit! So easy, delicious and not to mention beautiful to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
best by far the only thing i did differently is i used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
i made this for my boyfriend and he loved it.. great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
My first attempt at apple pie and wow!! A few minor changes to the recipe: I used Cortland apples, used 1 cup sugar (half was brown sugar) and added more cinnamon. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was an excellent pie, 5 stars with a little adjustment. This pie tastes like apples, not super sweet and spicy. I loved that about it. That being said, I will probably slightly increase the spices, and if using really tart apples like I did this time, I'd increase the sugar a bit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I love this pie because it's simple yet classic. I mixed all the dry ingredients extra and put it in a plastic baggie. Apple pie mix! I keep that, frozen pie dough (Mom's Pie Crust) and frozen sliced apples on hand. Pie couldn't be easier! I do have a problem with the filling bubbling over my lattice but that might just be baker's error. Just remember to use foil on your edges or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
It was easy to make and everybody loved it! It seems like there are too many apples to fit the pie, but they cook down during the baking process. The lemon really makes this recipe worthwhile! I'll definitely be baking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have been making this pie for years as it is my husband's favorite. It is a good starter recipe, but it should be noted that with only 3/4 cups sugar to 7 cups of a tart apple like Granny Smith it is going to lean towards a more tart pie with a hint of sweet. The lemon rind is a nice touch, but doesn't really add anything, so if you don't have it no big deal. You do need the lemon juice to react with the flour to thicken the juices. Also, I accidently left out the butter the last time I made it. Funnily enough I couldn't tell the difference there either so in the future I will save the calories and live without it. When I am in a bit of a rush I just squeeze the lemon over the apples in a large bowl; add the flour, sugar and spices and mix by hand, making sure to coat every piece. I find this is quicker and assures full coverage. As with any pie recipe, if the crust starts to brown before it is done cooking just use a pie ring or tinfoil to cover it. The temperature is perfect for cooking the apples and with a bit of tinfoil your crust will be just fine. I would never turn the temp down for fear of undercooked apples. It is a good idea to put the pie on a cookie sheet just in case the filling bubbles over. It makes a gooey mess in the bottom of your oven otherwise. [Ask me how I know. heehee] This is a tried and true, very basic, very tart apple pie recipe. Add a bit more sugar [1/4 cup more] if you have a sweeter tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkippyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! And easy. I think this will be my standard apple pie recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABAADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States