Apple Pie Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
These were really good. I'm following a balanced healthy diet plan. I switched the whole wheat flour for whole grain pastry flour with great results. Also took in to consideration small chunks of apples versus grated apples. I ended up with 5 waffles instead of 4. Per waffles 81 cal with a whooping 7.62 grams of fiber. I served this waffles with 2 tbsp of almond butter. Thank you so much for submitting this healthy recipe! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this into a gluten free version, as I don't eat gluten. My wife, who is an incredibly picky eater and almost never likes gluten free things, loved it. I used 1.5 cups brown rice flour, .5 cup gluten free flour (potatoes, sorghum, tapioca, garbanzo and fava beans), and 1/4 cup gluten free oats. I substituted agave nectar instead of honey, as it was all I had. I only had one large granny smith apple, and no applesauce, so I added a banana for the extra apple and applesauce. I then used half a cup of buttermilk I had to use up, and the other half soy. After I let it sit, it seemed a little thick, so I just added a bit of water. It made 4 large, thick waffles that were crispy on the outside and soft inside. They were thick, but not tough. My wife loaded hers with butter and brown sugar, which she said was good. I had a teeny bit of butter and a small amount of agave nectar. We both loved them. The banana was really good in it--you could just taste a hint of it, as well as the apple (which I grated), but the apple pie spice really made the fruit stand out. One was more than plenty for both of us, and I froze the other two. Like it says, it does take about 7 minutes for them to cook. Don't take them off early, or else it won't be done in the middle and will make a mess. I turn my waffle iron over and hold it upside down for a bit after I put the batter in, and I had no problems with it sticking or splitting in two when I took it out. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Wonderful aroma! I used wheat germ instead of the bran, and because my apples were so big, I chose to omit the applesauce. I also omitted the salt. These were extremely moist, even when fully cooked. But, the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
These were great waffles, as well as low-fat and healthy, but you couldn't taste the apple at all! I would make these again with the apples chunky instead of shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
The family really liked these, even the kids that swore he wouldn't. I chopped the apples instead of shredding, next time I will add more. Prep does take longer than expected, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I would like to give this a 4.5. They are really good, and I love that they are all whole grain and almost no fat! I do not have to feel guilty like I do with the waffles my hubbie makes with a whole stick of butter!!! I cut the apples in chunks, as another reveiwer suggested, and the apple taste and texture came through clearly and wonderfully. Note of warning -- these do take really long to cook. I thought 7 minutes sounded awfully long, but it is about right. Also, they are not light and fluffy like you might think of when you hear "waffles". These are almost another category of food. They are pretty heavy and almost crunchy. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Made so many changes to make it less healthy and more tasty. I don't know if I can legitimately rate the recipe. Changed to 3/4 recipe. Used 1 egg instead of 1.5 egg whites. Of the whole wheat flour, substituted 1/4 c white flour. Added flaxseed meal, about 1T. Added 1T brown sugar and used 1 t baking powder instead of yeast since didn't have any on hand. Added 2T butter. Didn't have any applesauce, so just grated more apple, and also used apples in small chunks, total 2 medium apples. Didn't have any apple spice, so used 1 t cinnamon. Instead of water, I used skim milk, upping the total to 1.5 c and mixed all wet ingredients at once. Maybe because of my changes, the waffles didn't take THAT long to cook, maybe 4-5 minutes. Tasted great and will make it again. Fluffy, but not that crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I quadrupled the recipe because I had lots of apples and I planned on freezing these and popping them in the toaster oven as needed. I also used flax seed meal in place of the wheat bran (all I had on hand) I needed to add a lot more water & milk because the batter was really thick. The recipe is good for what they are...a healthy waffle. If you make these expecting a light, crunchy, fluffy FATTENING waffle, you will be disappointed. Having said all that after I made the first one I upped the spices. I wanted a lot more flavor. I didn't measure so these are guesstimates...keep in mind that I quadrupled the recipe from the beginning.. I added about 3 Tablespoons of cinnamon, 1 Tablespoon of vanilla, 3-5 teaspoons of cloves, 3-4 teaspoons of allspice, 2-3 teaspoons of nutmeg, and another 1-2 teaspoons of salt. These tasted pretty darn decent, for a healthy waffle. The apples make them really moist though and I think some people mistake the moistness for needing more cook time. If I have any extra apples in the future I need to use up I would probably make the recipe, from this site, for 'Whole Grain Waffles' and just shred up apples BUT they are also more fattening than these ones because these have no oil so keep that in mind. Try these if you are looking for a really, really healthy waffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I was a little disappointed. These were not awful, not good either. They took forever to cook and didn't really have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used white whole wheat instead of the whole wheat and bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States