Apple Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Substituted oil for the butter and ground flax seed/water for the egg due to allergies and it was excellent!! Gets better with each day- dense and moist, would be good with cinnamon in the batter if you wanted to sktip the streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is definitely a 5 star recipe. I made it this afternoon and my husband and I love it. I read reviews where people said it stuck, but mine didn't - I greased the muffin pan really well and also around the tops, and that did the trick. Also, I had apples, topping and some batter left over, so I greased a bowl and put the apple slices and batter together and topped with the brown sugar mix. Worked out perfectly. Will make again! April 10 2013. Other people have now made this recipe - they asked me for it and every last one of them loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I had some apples. I had some strawberries. I had a mission. I was looking for a good apple muffin recipe to modify into a strawberry-apple muffin and I settled on this; I didn't much except that I made my buttermilk (using 1TBS lemon juice and less than a cup of milk) and added in the strawberries (about 1 cup of diced strawberries; took me six large berries) and I used two whole apples (which came out to something more like 2.25 cups once diced); I didn't do the crumble top because I'm just not a fan. WOAH did these cook way too quickly. After 18 minutes I'd burned 7 of the 20 muffins that I'd made. :( That's the reason for knocking the star off; if I'd have known they'd cook so fast, I would have kept checking every five minutes. I'm not used to muffins cooking like this. They also didn't really "puff up" with a muffin top. This is something that I absolutely need/want from my muffins and these guys did not fit the bill. STILL, they were delicious (and I don't even like apple pie!). If you wanna try an extra surprise, I REALLY suggest adding in some Strawberries. They absolutely make the muffin for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. I added 2 1/2 cups of diced apples instead of 2 cups. 2 die for!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this into 24 smaller muffins and cut some of the sugar. We loved the simple apple muffin with all the spices on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was a great after dinner treat! I made the recipe as written, and it was easy and delicious! I haven't made any muffins or cupcakes since home ec back in the 70s, so this was a fun re-start to baking. As I overloaded the crumb topping, there was plenty of cinammon taste(and my cinnamon is fresh from Penzey's). Next time I will lighten up on the topping, as it became a bit crunchy on the edges. It definitely makes more than a dozen, but I ended up tossing the leftover batter and topping. I only could find one muffin/cupcake tin in the house and didn't feel like keeping the oven on another 25 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great muffin made exactly as described. They also freeze very well after making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisquig
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
And I thought slicing apples for pie was fun! :D Two Grannies were two cups. Didn't do the streusel topping so I could tell how much I liked the muffin compared to the topping. Put spices (1t cinnamon, 1/4t each nutmeg, allspice, cloves) in the muffin. Followed some of Sara Jo's suggestions & subbed 1c whole wheat & 1 1/4c white with 1t baking powder. Also subbed lowfat plain yogurt for the buttermilk. Used 1c sugar. Really didn't taste like apple pie, more like apple cake? Very cute looking & I got 18, not 12. 'Sure the streusel topping makes these much better, but I wasn't all that impressed with just the muffin part. They did moisten up overnight, just no "Mmmm" moments. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe took care of my muffin craving! I didn't have any buttermilk so I added 1 tsp of cream of tartar and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. I with held the urge to add cinnamon to the batter. There is no need with the streusel topping. I added a fresh vanilla bean only because I had them on hand. They look store bought. Yummie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie Alder

Displaying results 91-100 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States