Apple Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I really liked these. No, they don't taste like apple pie, but they are still delicious. I loved the texture of the apple pieces in the muffin. I found the sweetness to be just right. I only changed one thing, and that was using half brown sugar and half white in the batter, since I ran out of brown sugar. I did use brown sugar for the topping. The topping did get quite crunchy, which I think is a nice contrast to the moist, soft bottom part. I do have to say, filling the muffin cups all the way to the top is not a good idea. They did rise over the sides. I didn't have any problems getting them out in one piece though, as some other comments said. They came right out. So, all in all, I think they are fine the way they are, no changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Fabulous recipe! I make a lot of muffins, but had never tried apple before. I will definitely be making these again!! Most & delicious!! I didn't change a thing, other than to double the recipe to share with family and friends. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
These muffins were great. The only modification I made to this recipe was adding a dash of cinnamon to the batter, and to be honest, it wasn't even really necessary. I was a bit unsure about filling the muffin cups to the top, but I did and the muffins rose just enough to look perfectly rounded. They looked, smelled, and tasted great. I'll be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I have to agree, changing this recipe takes away from its great taste. I kept it original and was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Made exactly as the recipe is written. These are delicious! They taste just like apple pie. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
These are excellent, very moist, I only baked 20 minutes, 25 minutes, they'd have been to dry. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used 1/2 c. each, sour cream & strawberry yogurt....I didn't have enough sour cream either..lol...they didn't taste of strawberry either. I know I'll be making these a lot as my husband gets hit up everyday at work for his baked goods that I send in his lunch bucket. Thanks for the great recipe Jan Brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Mmm. I tried a little more spice. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and so glad I did! Just amazin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this with my friend and instead of making the crumbs to put on top, we added crystalized sugar sprinkles instead. They still tasted amazing and were a lot less work. The first time we used the regular crystals (the clear ones) but for a more colorful appearance we also tried colored sprinkles. The muffins were amazing and great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theghettigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is delightful. I did change a few things due to unavailable ingredients. Didn't have enough brown sugar so I used 1C of white sugar + 1/2C brown sugar for the muffin portion. (I know it's important for the topping to be brown sugar.) I only put 1/4C of flour in the topping, but added 1/4C quick oats and about 1Tbs of melted butter to topping as well. I'm glad my modifications didn't ruin this recipe. They are totally worth gashing my fingertip while peeling the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States