Apple Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
YES. After a couple attempts at muffins that were absolutely horrible and a waste of time and money, I was THRILLED to find this recipe. Truly spectacular. I am vegan so I used soy milk (Silk plain) instead of buttermilk, Earth Balance instead of butter, and applesauce instead of the egg (standard substitutions) and these are just wonderful. I agree with some others that a little cinnamon in the actual cake batter would be beneficial but I am so pleased. These are almost like cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I really enjoy the taste, but they are a little fussy. Next time I will put the muffins in the oven for a little bit before I put the topping on. The mini muffins worked fine as is, but the topping sank right into the large muffins. I used muffin papers for both, but I would recommend spraying the top of your pan as well since they do tend to get a little stuck. Otherwise, very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
These were WONDERFUL very moist! I added cranberry and walnuts which added a great texture to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara_monroe
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
The only changes I made in this recipe was to substitute 1 cup of wheat flour for A/P flour and added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. I also made it in a muffin top pan instead of a regular muffin pan. They turned out wonderful. Made 6 large muffin tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by texaspixie
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
What a gorgeous muffin. I was wary about filling the muffin tins to the top. I even filled a little over - but they turned out beautiful. I did make changes because of what I had on hand and the other reviews. I used 1/2 cup of apple sauce instead of butter in the batter. I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white in both the batter and topping. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1 cup of milk and 2 tsp of vinegar. I tossed the apples with 2 tsp white sugar and 1/2 tsp of vinegar. I forgot to put in the vanilla. They turned out great anyway! **I also used white wheat flour to up the fiber content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texaspixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
So good...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2CUTIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I'm giving this five stars despite the fact that I personally prefer an apple muffin with some spice: I added cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and ginger. I also tossed in some oatmeal to add fiber and flavor (and I made them with whole wheat). It's an easy recipe to alter according to one's taste. I use other apple muffin recipes regularly, and I'll add this one to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! I'm not in love with apple pie, but I like these muffins a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
So good! These are excellent! They're moist and relatively good for you with the brown sugar. I added an extra cup or so of apples, and some cinnamon and nutmeg right into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Hantke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Use Granola for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Assumption, Illinois, USA
Living In: Heyworth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States