Apple Pie Moonshine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These didn't taste like an apple pie moonshine like it should be. Although, it is smooth tasting but could use more everclear and a hint of something else. I would lessen the vodka since it stuck out a lot, other than that, it's a lovely treat for the holidays especially for those who like to give out homemade gifts in mason jars :) . I should mention that the state of california does not sell 190 proof only 151.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Not like grandmas moonshine, but it's not bad. Easy to prepare. And you can get 190 proof in CA, only on military bases though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I cut the white sugar in half. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I omit the white sugar completely and only use brown sugar and instead of vodka use 151 spiced rum. I also use a lot more cinnamon sticks (they sell them at Sam's club and they are about half as long as normal ones) I put one in each 16 oz. mason jar that I use. Made it for Christmas last year and the crowd went wild. It was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made this recently.......definitely not enough alcohol, and I recommend, less cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I really like this. I made this yesterday. I used 2 different vodkas a 80 proof and the vanilla vodka. I do think it is way too much sugar for this. It is very sweet. I will cut the sugar in half next time and see how it is. I am over all happy with this. It really does taste like Apple pie with vanilla ice cream. I will be giving my family some of this...=) I notice if you leave the cinnamon stick in it gets a very strong cinnamon flavor. If you don't like a strong cinnamon flavor don't leave the cinnamon stick in the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made this and used spiced rum and apple vodka in one batch and spiced rum and caramel vodka in another batch. It was such a hit for Christmas that I have already had two people requesting more. Tonight we are making it and I think I am going to cut the sugar in half and see if it is a little less sweet. It's a pretty easy and fun gift to give!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Made just as stated. Delicious going to make as a wedding favor for our Daughter wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

Fall Apple Pumpkin Shandy

A combination of pumpkin ale and apple cider in one delicious drink.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States