Apple Pie in a Jar Drink Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
make sure your juice is COLD - below room temp- to avoid evaporating the alchohol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I tried this drink years ago while on vacation with friends and I had to have the recipe. I've made it several times and have only one suggestion. When transfering to bottles or jars, use a new knee high nylon over a hand strainer to help cut down on the "pulp". You will have to rinse it often. Oh, also, try warming it up in the microwave. Thats the only way i drink it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was very good, and fragrant. Recieved compliments. Served in a crock pot and set the everclear on the side for people to choose to use it or not. Next time, take the cinnamon sticks out afterboiling, and put into cups. That way the presentation is still beautiful, but the whole bowl isn't too cinnamon-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have had this EXACT recipe for years and always have a steady supply in the fridge once deer hunting season comes around. We ARE deer camp. my tips--- SIMMER for 2-3 hours!!! put as much back in the gallon jugs after its finished. very easy to store in fridge and then just a screw cap on it. BUT make it a week or two ahead of time! then put 3 sticks in each gallon jugs and let it sit in the fridge- every couple days shake them up. this way you wont even taste the everclear- if you make it right you wont even know it has alcohol in it. the longer it sits the less alcohol you wil taste. as i dont like hard alcohol i make it early so i can celebrate a downed deer with my husband and all his friends! OH- and make SURE you have a big funnel-- that two bucks at walmart will prevent you from moping a huge mess up in the kitchen. good luck and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
this was very good, we gave it to our friends for the holidays. I let the juices simmer for an hour so the liquid would reduce. It worked out great. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k4rin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Made this will apples from the tree outback - - one word - - AWESOME!! Wish I'd have made more while the apples were ripe - down to one little mason jar left and trying to make it last all winter isn't gonna work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I've had this before, but never made it. This was so easy and soooo good! Taking it on a canoe trip as well as keeping some for weekend campfires! Besides cin stix, I added several dashes of ground cinnamon & a little nutmeg, as well as followed someone elses suggestion to added a little vanilla after it cools... all I can say is FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieLou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I really did not care for this drink recipe. I used Everclear, and all I could taste (and smell) was the grain alcohol. I'm not sure what I could have tweaked to make the recipe more palatable. I served it to about 20 people, and it received mixed reviews, so perhaps it is just a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Excellent Flavor, has quite the kick!! Great cold winters drink thats for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chisago City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I tried this recipe and fell in love! I am going to make it for a drink at my wedding instead of wine at the tables. I was going to can it to prevent it from going bad. The problem is I have never canned anything before! I can't seem to find anything online about canning liquids.... does anyone know how much head space should be left and how long to process it for??? Any information would be helpful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

Strawberry Shortcake Drink

Frozen strawberries, amaretto, ice cream and vodka blended into a cocktail.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States