Apple Pie in a Jar Drink Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
The longer it sets the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I Love this recipe! This is our favorite 'go-to' drink, we make it all the time. I let the juice simmer for an hour or so, then I'll throw a hand full of red hot candies in the cider while it's simmering for a little extra cinnamon flavor. I like to use 1/2 c white sugar and 3/4 c brown sugar.. I think it makes it taste more like apple pie. If you're using moonshine instead of everclear, I'd add and extra 1/4 c of sugar and make sure you give it time to mellow. The most important thing to know about this recipe is that it needs to Mellow. As hard as it is sometimes.. bottle it up and put it away. Open up a jar in three months and THEN decide what you think of this recipe. OMG, amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommacoz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Way too sweet. I found a different recipe that calls for just the cider, cinnamon and vanilla vodka- I found that one to be a good balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have tried this recipe as is and it was alright. I feel it is much better to sub. pure honey in instead of the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
We have made this drink for our Howl-O-Ween Bonfire for many years now. I like that this recipe doesn't call for as much sugar. I make 2 gallons at a time and have more and more requests for it each year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiegirlnc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Notice the recipe states: Add Sugar "TO TASTE" so TASTE IT to see if it's sweet enough for you before you add more sugar. Same goes for the alcohol. If you don't like that much then don't use that much. It's simple! But in my opinion, this recipe rocks AS IS! Another note: it doesn't take as much time as the notes above say. Follow the directions exactly and stick it in the fridge to cool if you're in a hurry. When it cools enough to add the alcohol then have at it. This is an awesome recipe! Our friends and family love it. We get phone calls every Fall asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great Stuff :o) Taste is EVERYTHING so, Spare no expense, use "Martinelli's" Apple juice A few tweaks make it perfect for me, my family and friends. 2-cups white sugar AND 1-cup brown sugar, add Vanilla AND Nutmeg as well... Just those little changes made a world of difference...ENJOY !! :O) XXX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I loved it, and so did my husband, mother, and several other friends and relatives! I scaled it down to a much smaller batch, but will be making the full batch next time! I did not have any cinnamon sticks, so I poured a heap of cinnamon powder in a coffee filter, and tied it closed... it steaped like a tea bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbar86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I tried this recipe and fell in love! I am going to make it for a drink at my wedding instead of wine at the tables. I was going to can it to prevent it from going bad. The problem is I have never canned anything before! I can't seem to find anything online about canning liquids.... does anyone know how much head space should be left and how long to process it for??? Any information would be helpful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

Strawberry Shortcake Drink

Frozen strawberries, amaretto, ice cream and vodka blended into a cocktail.

Fall Apple Pumpkin Shandy

A combination of pumpkin ale and apple cider in one delicious drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States