Apple Pie in a Brown Paper Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I've made this kind of pie so many times and have always stapled my paper grocery bag together. It makes the most delicious apple pie and there is NEVER any problem with the staples being near the food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is my husband's favorite pie. I have been making it for at least thirty years. It is always delicious, and I always bake it in a brown (grocery) bag. It will smell like paper toasting for a little while, but it is fine! You can close it with a couple of large paper clips, that's what I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamadellie
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is still the best apple pie ever. We have never had any problems with cooking it in a brown paper bag for the last 25 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamadellie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST APPLE PIE RECIPE YOU DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THE CRUST BURNING.VERY QUICK & EASY ! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Given a 5 star for flavour. We don't like apples that stay crisp when cooked, so I won't make it with Granny Smith's again, but the flavour was really good. Mother in law LOVED it said it reminded her of the "BIG APPLE" in Colborne, Ontario's pie, which she loves! She nicknamed it sweet and sour pie! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Oh - my - gosh, Mamadellie!! I have made three different apple pies over the weekend (all from the website) and I must say, yours gets five stars! The ladies at church voted on your pie the most often and it was the first to go! Congrats, and thank you for this recipe, which I have been looking for for the last ten years because when my grandmammy died, her recipes died with her...and this was one of them. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Skorski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I didn't put the bag on it...It turned out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This made an excellent pie. I didn't cook it in parchment paper or a brown paper bag, but it still came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nitephase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Socorro, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This Apple Pie is amazing. . and the paper bag really works!! I made several of these last year with the apples from our apple trees. The neighbors enjoyed the pie as much as we did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have made this pie on many occassions. I use a large Reynolds Turkey roasting bag to put my pie in. I don't have to worry about fire and I close the bag using the twisty tie. The bag is not to touch the top of teh pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States