Apple Pie in a Brown Paper Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is our favorite apple pie. I make bottom from scratch, I use store bought, I do use brown paper bag with paper clips. No problem. I have one in the oven now. I have a peeler and then I used my microplane slicer and went around the core. Nice thin slices and easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I changed the recipe a bit, but the outcome was delicious. I used 3 granny smith apples and 3 golden delicious apples. I used a store bought refrigerated crust and didn't use graham cracker crumbs as I didn't have any. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. My family especially enjoyed the carmelized, lightly crisp top. I served it not too long after it came out of the oven as we like our pies warm. I will definitely make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe! The top crust is what makes this taste like the one from The Elegant Farmer in WI. I followed other suggestions and doubled the top crust recipe. Other than that followed it to the letter and it tasted superb! Next time I will try baking the bottom crust a bit first before filling so it isn't so mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe, but proportions are wrong for the apples for sure. I cooked it with the 5 pounds, and it took FOREVER to cook, and apples still have a bit of crisp to them. The top layer is great tho. :) Worth tinkering with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Amazing Pie! Omitted the ginger and doubled the crust, flattened it out in my hands and formed a soft "crust" all over the top of the pie rather than "dot them randomly". The top is supposed to be a crust, not a cobbler style topping. It's my family's favorite part so I personally decided not to skimp. The graham crackers are of pure genius! Never thought of it before. I also used a plain brown grocery bag instead of parchment paper. Folded it over under the pie plate. Smelled a little of burning paper in the beginning but then transformed into the usual "drool until time to eat smell" we all know so well. Yes, my bag was recycled - no problems using them ever in my oven. Can't wait for Thanksgiving to show this pie off to family and friends. Thanks! Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dallasbull

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Oh heaven in my mouth! It is more time consuming to make because of the two different crusts and the apple coring process, but it is so worth it. The two different crusts are just perfect. I have had apple pies with crusts that are too salty and it just ruined the pie for me. To make my life a little easier, I chill the topping (top crust) for 10 minutes just prior to step #5. Since it has a lot of butter, it tends to soften in my fingers rather quickly, so cooling it makes the pinching process less messy. I don't know if the bag is totally necessary because I've made it successfully both with and without it. But there is an element fun and surprise making it inside the paper bag. Thank you, Mamadellie. This apple pie is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I use another recipe I have had for years but you can no longer use paper bags as they are now recycled and the bag will burn. So I am going to try parchment paper as I think that is what makes the pie so good in covering it up. This is a very good recipe. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Svinth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Omgee! I'm 30 something years old & I've never made a pie from scratch!! It's always been store bought. I was forsure thinking I'd mess this up, but I was super surprised to see how non confusing this was!! It came out great!! I was soo happy! And my friends loved it & so did my husband!! I'll definitely make this again! Thanks Mamadellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used my my Mom's recipe, but baked it in the brown bag. I will never go back to baking it without! It bakes perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I'm glad I found this recipe! I go to a local farmer's stand and they are famous for the apple pie baked in a brown paper bag which is quite costly! I always have to cook my apples down after slicing them because my boyfriend doesn't like the texture of apples and wants them soft instead of crunchy and it still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States