Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe, best apple pie yet. I modified it a bit to cut back on butter(fats). Added a little cinnamon to apples while cooking, and this is a sure keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This pie is really good. I've always made apple pie the traditional way but would fret the whole time it cooked wondering if it was going to be too runny, too tart, etc. Its so much easier making it this way, pretty much fool proof. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and used macs cuz thats what I had. The only tip I have is to cut the apple slices pretty thick so they stay in tact. I think I'll use this recipe from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Just the BEST!!!! I also paired it with the french pastry pie crust recipe and it was perfect, the flavors/texture combine so well. I only made a lil change, instead of apple juice I added a splash of white wine, WOW!!!! you only have to wait for the alcohol to evaporate. Maybe next time i'll cut down on sugar because white wine makes apples mixture even sweeter. I made this pie yesterday night and i'm sure i´ll have to make it again next weekend!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Gracias!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Absolutely spectacular! I used orange juice instead of apple juice, but otherwise followed the recipe. Because of the pre-cooking, you can adjust the seasonings to ensure pefect flavor. I don't see a need for any other apple pie recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This pie was delicious. I added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 2 dashes of nutmeg, like another reviewer suggested. I also replaced apple juice with OJ, since that's what I had on hand. I didn't care for the orangey tang that it added, so next time I'll use apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This recipe was awesome!!! I had to tweak it a little but it still came out great. I would add cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, vanilla extract, brown sugar instead of white sugar and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Great flavor. Had to tweak it just a little. Took the suggestion from other reviewers and added a teaspoon of cinnamon and reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. My husband thought it was perfectly sweet with the reduced amount of sugar. Also added a tablespoon of lemon juice that I read from another recipe. Personal tip: I found it easier to remove the apples and thicken the syrup and then stir the apples and syrup together. I wanted to be sure that I didn't have any clumps of cornstarch in the bottom. Will definitely make again! Thanks, Darcy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Delicious, the best apple pie I'v ever made! Cooking the apples before is the secret to the perfect texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
The BEST apple pie I've ever made! I used only 5 apples and 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup. I also added 2 tsp. of cinnamon. Shared it with 12 of my friends and they all loved it. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this pie twice this week and it was a hit both times! I followed others' suggestions to add vanilla and cinnamon. I also took another person's suggestion and paired it with the french pastry recipe for the crust and it was a great combo. I am a first-time pie-maker and the recipes were easy to follow and yielded great results...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States