Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Absolutely spectacular! I used orange juice instead of apple juice, but otherwise followed the recipe. Because of the pre-cooking, you can adjust the seasonings to ensure pefect flavor. I don't see a need for any other apple pie recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This pie was delicious. I added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 2 dashes of nutmeg, like another reviewer suggested. I also replaced apple juice with OJ, since that's what I had on hand. I didn't care for the orangey tang that it added, so next time I'll use apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This recipe was awesome!!! I had to tweak it a little but it still came out great. I would add cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, vanilla extract, brown sugar instead of white sugar and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Great flavor. Had to tweak it just a little. Took the suggestion from other reviewers and added a teaspoon of cinnamon and reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. My husband thought it was perfectly sweet with the reduced amount of sugar. Also added a tablespoon of lemon juice that I read from another recipe. Personal tip: I found it easier to remove the apples and thicken the syrup and then stir the apples and syrup together. I wanted to be sure that I didn't have any clumps of cornstarch in the bottom. Will definitely make again! Thanks, Darcy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Delicious, the best apple pie I'v ever made! Cooking the apples before is the secret to the perfect texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
The BEST apple pie I've ever made! I used only 5 apples and 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup. I also added 2 tsp. of cinnamon. Shared it with 12 of my friends and they all loved it. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this pie twice this week and it was a hit both times! I followed others' suggestions to add vanilla and cinnamon. I also took another person's suggestion and paired it with the french pastry recipe for the crust and it was a great combo. I am a first-time pie-maker and the recipes were easy to follow and yielded great results...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
DELICIOUS!!! The best filling I've had in an apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I just made this apple pie filling and it was very easy to make. I did add cinnamon, nutmeg to taste and used orange juice instead of apple juice since that was what I had on hand and I took the advice from the other reviews. I tasted it while it was hot and yummy is all I can say. I can hardly wait for it to come out of the oven. I turned it into an apple cobbler this time. I gave it a 4 star only because I had to tweek it a little to make it taste a little more like apple pie vs. cooked sweet apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is THE BEST apple pie I have ever tasted. I am not fond of pie in general, but wanted to try it as my family loves it. I used the orange juice, like someone had suggested, added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 2 dashes nutmeg. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States