Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful pie..even without the taste of ground cinnamon!! However, there may be too much cornstarch...which makes the apple filling kinda thick...but overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I have a huge sweet tooth and this pie was way too sweet for me. I should have listened to some of the other reviewers and cut down to 1/4 cup sugar in each application. I did add lemon juice, cinnamon and a tad nutmeg. The flavor was there. I should have also not cooked the apples as long as I did, and I thought I was taking them off the heat too soon as it was. All that said, I thoroughly enjoyed this pie. I will make it again and use the knowledge I learned. It'll be worth it, I'm positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine McAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
If you're looking for a wonderful apple pie filling, THIS IS IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Summit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Wow. I won't need to look for anymore apple pie recipes. Added some cinnamon and vanilla, used granny smiths instead of macs, and did everything else as directions suggest (all this was personal preference, though), and it came out superb. Hubby and I downed it in two days. My two-year-old didn't like it, but he doesn't like fruit, so he doesn't count. The pie didn't hold together when I served it, but who cares? Didn't affect the taste at all. :) Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very good recipe! I also took suggestions from other reviewers: add 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tbsp lemon juice. I used orange juice instead of apple juice, and reduced sugars to 1/4 cup each. Butter was halved as well. Still, the taste was great! Not too sweet, not too sour. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linpeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This recipe was amazing, veryone at my house loved it. I didn't have any white sugar so I used brown sugar instead, and I also added the lemon juice and cinnamon. Although make sure you don't let the apples cook too long then they get really mushy. But the pie was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
The best apple pie I've ever had and made. Don't bother with a bakery this one is guaranteed to make everyone happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I have never made pie before, and for my first time I wanted something simple. I was surprised by how good this turned out. It was so good!!!!!I dont think Ive ever eaten apple pie that tasted better than this one. I used two different kinds of apples too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was great. As a beginner it was nice to know that the apples were cooked and the spices were just right. I took the advice of others and added cinnamon and nutmeg. Also removed the apples before thickening the liquid..great idea from another review. The only thing wrong was that I used a pie crust recipe from this site and the crust was terrible, it didn't do the filling justice. So be sure to choose a good crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Mmmm, I'm actually eating a slice now and it's sooo good, buttery but it's worth the calories! I used a butter crust found on this website, and organic golden delicious apples, didn't have cornstarch so I sprinkled the apples with flour while they were cooking... and let it bake. My sortof mistake was that the crust didn't brown by the time the apples were done (dripping out of the pie- use a cookie sheet underneath the pie pan while baking) so the crust wasn't done and I broiled it and it burned really quick but I think it made a flavor that wouldn't otherwise be there and it's caramelly delicious. I used all brown sugar too, and a bit of cinamon and cloves... it's so good I don't mind one bit that it's burned. "So don't broil it if it's for company"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States