Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Love this recipe! All fruit pies and cobblers should always require you to cook your fruit first!!! Only thing I did differently is that I made my own crust. The first time I made this was for my husband, who was boyfriend at the time. His favorite pie was an apple pie, and I succeeded during the test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I'm glad to see that other cooks make the pie filling first as well. I started doing so when my wall oven always seemed to be at too high a heat no matter what temp I set it on. In order to delay replacing an old oven, I started making the filling on the stovetop, then filling the crust and only having to worry about keeping the crust from burning. It seemed like extra work at first, but there were never any surprises. Not only did that work for the apple pies, but for others as well. I made this recipe as written--only added some cinnamon and nutmeg and it was very good. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I used the Pie Crust IV recipe for this pie. I skipped adding 1/2 cup of sugar and substituted 1/2 cup of maple syrup for the apple juice. I did not add any cornstarch. I baked this for 40 minutes at 350F. The results were excellent. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Thanks for this recipe..I added cinnamon and nutmeg with the lemon juice from a half lemon it is lovely.. best of the best thanks again. Oh and I used orange juice instead of apple juice.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I only use this recipe now!!! Everyone always raves about it. I also add a little cinnamon to the recipe but instead of cornstarch i use minute tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
As written, the recipe would definitely be lacking--at the very least, cinnamon is a necessity in apple pie .... for me, anyway. I used Nitin apples that I got at the farmer's market--WONDERFUL for pie! They gave up so much liquid that I think half as much apple cider would have been plenty. I did use 4T cornstarch, 3 would probably have been just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
great way to make apple pie; you won't have to worry about the apples being hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Best apple pie I've have had. Made it straight from recipe without any changes. Froze it uncooked for 2 days and then thawed it and cooked it and it came out great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This pie was really good but I did one thing a little different. I like to be able to pick up my piece of pie in my hand and eat it. I added a bit more cornstarch and when the apple were cooked I used a potatoe masher and ran it down into the apples to make the apple pieces very small. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was my first attempt at an apple pie. I followed the suggestions of others by using orange instead of apple juice, added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and a half teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg, plus a quarter teaspoon cloves and ginger. I added all of the above in whith the juice/sugar mix, plus I subbed a quarter cup brown sugar in and cut the white sugar by a quarter cup. I also only had one prepared pie crust, so I topped my pie with a crumb topping from this site. It came out wonderfull! My only complaint is that next time I'll make more of the filling as it didn't fill the crust to my liking, maybe I needed more apples. ;) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReginaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States