Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Nice recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ravindra Singh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I guess no cooking times were listed since equipment, size of apple slices, etc. will vary, but here's what it took for me: 10-15 minutes cooking the fruit, 2-3 minutes with the cornstarch, then 45 minutes in the oven. I actually preheated my oven to 400, turning it down to 350 right before putting the pie in. I chose this recipe to use some golden delicious apples. It wasn't as good as a more tart apple, but it was nice to have the filling done before the crust got burnt. When it was fresh, I thought there was too much liquid, but it firmed up well in the refrigerator. The recipe was good, and I'll keep the method in mind for the future, but I'll need to tweak it and use tarter apples if I make it again. Definitely add cinnamon and other spices if you want a more traditional apple pie taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
really good! Made this exactly,then added vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon. Also added 3 1/2 tbls cornstarch like others suggested. Delicious with ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is the first time I tried this recipe. I under under cooked the apples a bit before I put them in the pie crust and it still seemed mushy and sticky in my mouth. I will be sticking to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Just made this pie and it is delicious!! I can truly say it is the best apple pie I have ever made. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg to flavor it up. Beware though...it is very sweet...this makes it taste yummy but if you or any family member is watching their sugar intake it can be knocked down by a quarter of cup or so and still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimba72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
After checking with other reviewers, I also added more cornstarch as well as nutmeg and cinnamon. The cooked filling makes this pie absolutely perfect in apple-texture. However, i suggest raising oven temp to at least 425F for 15 minutes at either beginning or end of baking so that pie shell attains proper texture. MMMMMMMmmmmmmmMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Really good! Just like from a bakery! Next time I will take some of the other users suggestions and cut back the sugar a bit and add a little more cornstarch, Otherwise, it was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I was looking for a recipe that had the apples cooked before baking and this is the one. It's simple to make and the only thing I did the first time was overcook the apples. I tweaked it a little by adding some lime juice and a teaspoon of cinnamon and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I am not an expert baker and this recipe comes out perfect every time. Maybe it is because I am just helping my 10-year old girl making it. We don't even bother looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe....and so does everyone else. I love being able to per-cook the filling. I added cinnamon to mine and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States