Apple Pie Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This turned out pretty good. I did make 3 minor changes. First, since I used the hard store-bought cookies I just crumbled them and added without the baking step. Second I chopped the apples into bite-sized pieces instead of slicing them. Third I did cook the egg/cream mixture because I have young children. They all liked it - the cinnamon wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
very tasty and easy to make, a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was really good with a FEW minor changes. I followed the 'chopped not sliced' advice of another reviewer, which made it really quick and easy, and since I think nuts are icky I left them out. I served the oatmeal cookies on the side. BUT...wouldn't this ice cream be yummy between 2 oatmeal cookies as an ice cream sandwich? Just an idea...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I love this recipe. I did, as suggested, leave the nuts out and I diced the apples into small pieces. I also used only 2 tsp. of cinn. I entered this recipe in an apple dessert contest and won 1st place. Thank you, the ice cream is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
A first-rate ice cream recipe. I used 3 cups of 2 % milk, 1 cup of half and half and 1/2 cup of skim milk - the consistency of the ice cream was very acceptable. I chopped the apples, and added 1/2 cup of caramel ice cream topping. Keeps for ages and is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I served this as a Memorial Day dessert, and it was absolutely delicious and loved by all. I scaled down the recipe to 6 servings, and the mixture fit perfectly in my 1-quart ice cream maker. One small problem- I didn't let the apples cool completely before adding to the ice cream mixture, so I think the majority of the apples sunk to the bottom of my storage container (my fault). One guest said that it tasted just like a Ben and Jerry's ice cream that she had long ago. Someone else suggested that the ice cream would be perfect with the fried apples served over the top rather than inside the ice cream. All in all, it's a fantastic recipe. Don't be afraid of the steps required to make it- it is well worth all the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was simply delicious. I won't be going to Cold Stone for this treat anymore! I made three very minor changes...I added a pinch of nutmeg when frying the apples. I chopped the nuts up very fine, mixed them with the crushed cookies before I put them in the oven. The last thing is I took the advice of others and diced the apples instead for slicing them. Will most definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This tasted just like apple pie ala mode!! It was delicious! My changes were substituting vanilla wafers for the oatmeal cookies and omitting the nuts & caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is the best ice cream I have ever had! I chopped my apples instead of leaving them in slices. I also added an extra tsp of cinnamon to the apples by sheer accident, it turned out to be fine. I left out the walnuts as most of my family isn't really fans. Its yummy with out the nuts. For the caramel topping try making the Praline Sundae topping from this site (which is out of this world). I love the chopped bits of oatmeal cookie throughout(the hard store brand cookie works great. Awesome recipe I will be making this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States