Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
tasty classic apple pie. This is just how Grandma used to make it! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Made this for thanksgiving and it was delicious! I followed 'Ellen's' alterations and added an extra 1 tsp. of cinnamon so the recipe was as follows: 6 cups Sliced Apples, 3/4 cup Brown Sugar, 2 tsp. Cinnamon, 1.5 TBsp. Lemon Juice, 1/2 tsp. Vanilla, 1/4 tsp. Nutmeg, 2 TBsp. Flour, 1 TBsp. Butter. Just mixed the apples with all the ingredients except butter (dotted this on top last) and placed it in the shell, made a nice cross-thatch top and popped it in the oven for 45 mins. Mmmm delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxololl
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Delicious pie! My sister & I made this with my mother in law's famous pie crust recipe. We added 1 tbsp. lemon juice, used 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/4 cup white sugar, added 1 tsp. vanilla and 2 tbsp. flour. The apples were not as done as we would have liked but that may be because we sliced each apple into 16 slices, may work better sliced into 24 slices per apple. Delicious when warmed with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. I also added a splash of lemon juice. It turned out great! (Based on the suggestion of another user, I coated the top layer of the pie with an egg wash of 1 egg and 1 tablespoon milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Besides using brown sugar instead of white, i also added 2 tablespoons of flour. I followed the rest of the direstions in the receipe and the pie turnt out very well. This was my first attempt and I must say I am looking forward to my next pie. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
loved it! i did use half cup of white sugar and half cup of brown sugar, 1tbsp. of vanilla, and a squirt of lime juice. It turned our great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashcheekz
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Love the recipe...would like a little more pizazz to the mixture but otherwise it is very delicious! I added more sugar and cinnamon to give more tarty taste and it turned out VERY VERY good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashcheekz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I used my recipe for the crust. Other then that awesome recipe. Thank You, Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was amazing, however it's important to add flour, or cornstarch and the fact that the original recipe doesn't include this is why I docked a star. I added 3 tablespoons of flour. Lemon is a personal preference, some add it to prevent browning but it isn't (in my opinion) a necessity. Depending on what TYPE of apple I use, I may or may not use lemon. I added a touch of ground ginger and ground cloves to this (maybe 1/4 tsp each) and a pinch of freshly ground nutmeg. I also brushed the crust with egg white and topped it with a little sugar. I served this with "homemade" cinnamon ice cream (French vanilla ice cream that I mixed with ground cinnamon). After my renditions this pie was superb! But the one time I made it as is, it practically drowned in juices and had a soggy bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States