Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I always make a recipe as written the 1st time I try a new one...with that said. The top was nicely browned and the apples were cooked, but there was so much liquid it looked like soup. I suspect that the author omitted flour, I kept thinking as I was making it that something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Ginny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I thought it was dry...but then I realized I forgot the butter. Ooops. Still pretty good. its for a bake sale, so if its dry..its not my problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this pie with only the most suggested tweeks from the reviews, 1/4 cup of flour tossed in with apples, sugar and spice. Bit of lemon juice and eggwash with sugar/cinn sprinkle and it was AMAZING omg . yummmm the tip of putting it on the lowest rack and cooking it at a high temp the first few minutes saved me from ruining the bottom crust like i always do . Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We love the taste of this recipe. The only problem that I had was that the pie was very soupy and runny. I added 3 tbs. of flour but this was not enough. I would like to make this again as my family really love it, but not sure on how to make less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmericanHomeCook
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Tastes like Grandma's! Added nutmeg and cloves. Very good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Classic recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmericanHomeCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I love this recipe! The only change I make is that I put all of the apples in a big bowl and mix the dry ingredients with the apples and let it sit while I roll out my crusts. Then I put the apple mix in dotting the layers with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This apple pie was super easy to make. I made it the night before thanksgiving and it probably could've stayed in the oven a little longer as the crust seemed a little under done. I simply through it in the over for 20 additional minutes on low before serving it warm to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was my first pie ever making. My husband and I loved it. It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I add raisins plumped in water. I then heat the raisin water and add some dissolved cornstarch to thicken, a tiny bit of lemon juice, and some nutmeg and a dash of brown sugar. Before putting the apples into the crust , I use a fork to poke holes in the bottom crust, then add this thickened "sauce" to the pie, dust the apples with flour, then close the crust. There have been raves. It's a tweak of an original found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States