Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Delicious and fun to make!!! My first pie came out the best! I even made it like an expert! I love it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I was skeptical about trying this recipe at first, but I needed a quick dessert for the Fourth of July and I had a plethora of Granny Smith apples left. The recipe is a simple one, but I tweaked it a little bit. I added a couple of dashes of nutmeg, used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also added two teaspoons of cornstarch to help thicken the juices a bit. I made the "Butter Flaky Crust" the day before. As for baking, I started it off at 450 degrees for ten minutes then reduced the temp to 350 and let it bake for about thirty-five minutes. It's important to make sure the juices are bubbly before removing from the oven. PS-Brush the crust with one egg mixed with a tablespoon of water to make it nice and brown. (Makes for great presentation)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This pie was perfect! I'm glad I read the comments and added 2 tbsp of flour the the mix, and tossed the apples in the sugar-cinnamon-flour mixture. My whole family and my boyfriend loved it, and it was very easy to make. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Have made this several times. It tastes wonderful, but end up with way too much liquid in the bottom. Don't know what I'm doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Was very good and very easy. No adjustments needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by birdluv4ever
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was so good! It was not overly sweet and was really tasty. My granddad said it was one of the best pies he has ever had! This was the only homemade pie at my thanksgiving dinner, and it was devoured! I will use this recipe for every holiday to come! Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdluv4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by nparks401
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Used half Gala half Granny Smith plus one extra and piled high! Amazing!! Doubled the butter on top soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I would like to give this recipe 4.5 stars. The only changes I make are adding a tablespoon or so of lemon juice to the apples if they aren't very tart. Instead of sprinkling I coat the apples in a bowl before dumping them in the pie shell. Milk or egg wash on top, depending on what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Just like my granny used to make yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States