Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This was delicious! I added a few touches to it, also. I mixed the apples with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, stirred in the sugar and 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken the juices. After adding the top crust, I brushed on an egg wash ( 1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon milk)and sprinkled 1 tablespoon of sugar. I placed the glass pie dish on a baking sheet to prevent any spill-over from dripping onto the oven's floor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
847 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I added 1-2 TBLS lemon jiuce, 2 TBLS flour, 1/2 teas vanilla 1/4 teas nutmeg and used brown sugar instead of white. Then mixed the seasonings with the apples before putting it in the crust. I won first prize at a local Farmer's Market apple pie contest so thanks! I cooked it longer- more like 55 minutes so next time will do the 10 minutes at 450, then 40 minutes at 375 I think will work great. It might be my stove so just wait until it is bubbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
758 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I have made this pie several times to the point of not needing the recipe anymore. Even though it's simple, people rave over it! I recently began to add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, and it gives a wonderful flavor. Also, I spray my pie pan with Butter flavored nonstick spray, so it's easy to serve (I do cheat and use the refrigerated crusts). I like to dash the crust with a little butter, sugar, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I changed some stuff and it came out a lot better the 2nd time. I did 2/4c brown and 1/4 white sugar instead of 3/4c white sugar. I put some nutmeg in it also. On top of the latice i mixed 1 egg and some milk and egg washed the top of the pie and then sprinkled it with white sugar. I had to bake it about 10 minutes longer. Just wanna make sure you wait for the juices in the pie to bubble before removing from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This turned out wonderfully! Thanks to all the AllRecipes members who suggested adding some flour to the mix! I tossed the apples in the sugar, cinnamon, nutmet and 4tbsp flour together before pouring it into the crust and the filling turned out juicy but not runny. Delicious! My husband wondered how I had gotten his grandmother's recpie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I used premade crust and added two tsp flour, a little nutmeg, and sprinked the apples with lemon juice. I also used 2 tsp butter and sprinkled the top crust with sugar before baking. My family raved about it. I used granny smith apples, but want to try other kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This pie was very good but we don't understand the layering of the apples and sprinkling process. The second time we tried it we just mixed the apples with the mixture and it tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letitsnow!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This turned out super!! :) What a fantastic pie. It's a keeper! I did add a few tbsps of flour to the cinnamon sugar mixture so it would "jell" and it turned out perfectly, not runny in the least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Didn't realize how easy it is to make apple pies. Made this over 5 times already. I added half teaspoon nutmeg to the sugar mixture and 1 tablespoon lemon juice to the apples. Lovely! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
i have failed miserably at several other apple pie recipes, but this one came out perfectly!...i added some brown sugar, nutmeg and flour (several of my attempts at other recipes came out like apple soup)...this pie was fantastic!...will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States