Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was amazing, however it's important to add flour, or cornstarch and the fact that the original recipe doesn't include this is why I docked a star. I added 3 tablespoons of flour. Lemon is a personal preference, some add it to prevent browning but it isn't (in my opinion) a necessity. Depending on what TYPE of apple I use, I may or may not use lemon. I added a touch of ground ginger and ground cloves to this (maybe 1/4 tsp each) and a pinch of freshly ground nutmeg. I also brushed the crust with egg white and topped it with a little sugar. I served this with "homemade" cinnamon ice cream (French vanilla ice cream that I mixed with ground cinnamon). After my renditions this pie was superb! But the one time I made it as is, it practically drowned in juices and had a soggy bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Turned out delicious!! But I would add flour to the recipe because mine turned out a bit on the juicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Simply great! Added 1 tblspn lemon juice and 2 tblspns flour and this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Super Easy & yummy recipe. Just what I was looking for...I did take some of the suggestions of other reviewers.I added 2 Tbs flour, some lemon juice & mixed 1/2 cup white sugar & 1/3 cup light brown sugar. 1/4 tsp nutmeg, too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Made this recipe for a family member using Macintosh apples. It was awesome. Did like others suggested and used 3 TBS of flour to thicken up the juice a bit, and also 2 TS of lemon juice on the apples. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very Delicious. And a very easy recipes. Not alot of ingredients to deal with. From now on I will be baking this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I love this recipe! I make it year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great easy recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very yummy! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States