Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by AmericanHomeCook
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Tastes like Grandma's! Added nutmeg and cloves. Very good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Classic recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmericanHomeCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I love this recipe! The only change I make is that I put all of the apples in a big bowl and mix the dry ingredients with the apples and let it sit while I roll out my crusts. Then I put the apple mix in dotting the layers with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This apple pie was super easy to make. I made it the night before thanksgiving and it probably could've stayed in the oven a little longer as the crust seemed a little under done. I simply through it in the over for 20 additional minutes on low before serving it warm to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was my first pie ever making. My husband and I loved it. It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I add raisins plumped in water. I then heat the raisin water and add some dissolved cornstarch to thicken, a tiny bit of lemon juice, and some nutmeg and a dash of brown sugar. Before putting the apples into the crust , I use a fork to poke holes in the bottom crust, then add this thickened "sauce" to the pie, dust the apples with flour, then close the crust. There have been raves. It's a tweak of an original found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was a really easy apple pie recipe. Honestly, you just toss everything into a pie shell and bake. I cheated and used a store bought pie crust, which I know took a lot of the taste away. I normally bake my own pie crust and that makes all the difference. It was a little on the sweet side, so next time I will not use as much sugar. I had the same issue with the pie being a little runny, but the next day it was fine. Next time, I will wait a full day before I cut into the pie, if i can wait that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Perfect, simplicity is best! I've made pies before and I don't like to get fussy or have the filling turn out tasting like the canned stuff. Special thanks to my neighbor who has an apple tree (Haralson apples).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I actually have a question about this recipe.. this would be the first pie Ive made.. I have apple pie spice can I use that in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg? If so Im not sure how much to use.. And someone told me if you use the premade pie crust you should bake the bottom crust a little first has anyone done it like that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States