Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Unfortunately, I read the reviews while my pie was baking. I worried the whole time that it would be runny. I did everything according to the recipe, but did leave it cook about 10 minutes longer until it was brown. We cut into it while it was warm, and it was perfect! The worrying was for nothing. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing. This is a keeper! UPDATE: I put all the sliced apples in a zip-lock bag and poured the cinnamon sugar mixture over them; shook gently, then filled the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I would give this recipe another star if it mentioned flour or cornstarch in the ingredients. Otherwise your pie will come out very runny! I add allspice, ginger, and nutmeg as well. It's better to mix all of the dry ingredients first and toss them with the apple slices. With these additions it comes out amazing every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Good basic recipe that is easily adapted to the user's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cordelia
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Much easier than I thought it would be, came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cordelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jscantl
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Apple pies are best made simply. Classic recipe. I like to brush my top crust with a honey butter mixture toward the end of baking. Another way to make a fancy top is to roll out the dough and use a shaped cookie cutter (hearts, leaves, xmas trees, etc.) and just layer those all over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscantl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I needed a bit fewer than 6 cups of apples to fill the pan, but in all other ways the recipe could be followed exactly. It has a very traditional flavor. However, its nothing remarkable or super memorable. Just a regular cinnamon and sugar apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was awesome! Made it for Thanksgiving. I did follow some of the suggestions and I added two tbsp of flour and half a teaspoon vanilla extract. I also used 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. I used a pre made crust, it was the type in the refrigerator and it came with two you could roll out. The bottom I just rolled and for the top I cut it into strips and layed it across. My husband said it looked and tasted like a deli pie. Thanks for sharing this! I'll definately make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Excellent pie. I made x1.5 the amount of crust I usually do and had enough to cover the whole pie. I used half white and half brown sugar. Instead of layering the apples and sugar mixture, I mixed the apple, sugars and cinnamon in a bowl and let it sit for a good half hour. Will definitely redo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Genis-Pouilly, Rhône-Alpes, France
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
very good flavor, BUT it was very runny, and fell all apart when serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I baked this for a gathering this week. I was worried it wouldn't be good enough, but it was PERFECT ! I wanted something that the "older" folks could relate to as "old fashioned" cooking and it did so VERY Well ! TY It did though take forever to cook I am not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States