Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This was the tastiest and easiest pie to make. I had never made a pie before so I was concerned how it would turn out. To my delight everyone raved about it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
If you are looking for a basic apple pie recipe, you found it here. Sometimes we need comfort food and this pie with a scoop of icecream is all you need. Easy recipe, I do add a little extra cinnamon and I also brush my crust with a little honey diluted with a few drops of water to give it a shiney glaze, this is done as soon as it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleens6
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Great taste but way to runny. I will make again and add flour. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleens6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My 18-year-old daughter's favorite dessert is the apple pie. When I told her I was trying this recipe, she cringed. I went exactly as described and now I am "not allowed" to use any other. My daughter states the cinnamon is what does the trick, plus fresh apples, which my other recipe called for neither. (It is now referred to as 'the fake recipe'.) I have made your apple recipe a few times already and each time, it is very delicious. It is going down in my hall of fame recipe book. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tibia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Great, simple recipe. Pie was a bit too runny though. How do I make the insides gel more so the juices don't all run as soon as I serve a piece?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Very tasting , as with others I used 2 parts brown sugar 1 part white , spinkled on 2 tbsp flour throughout the pie , used an egg wash on top and sprinkled with a bit of brown sugar.And mine always takes longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Oh so simple and oh so tasty. As the saying goes, "this was as easy as pie". My husband kept raving how awesome this was and going on about it being the BEST apple pie he's ever eaten. This was my first time to make apple pie without opening a can of filling. A lot easier than I thought and after this, I'm never going back to canned again! I used frozen pie crust and Granny Smith apples. I'll make this again and again, thanks, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I baked two pies using this recipe as written. Used Pillsbury Refridgerated Pie Crusts and Ida Red apples. Took them to a birthday party and got rave reviews from everyone! My sister had more the next day and had to call me to tell me just how wonderful it was. PERFECT recipe for apple pie! Pure and simple. I'm baking another now, using apple pie spice instead of just cinnamon. Yum! Great with ice cream on top too, of course. I also found I had no need to cover the edges of the pie with foil for some reason. I'm not sure if it's the crust I used, or because I turned the oven down to 325 and just let it bake a bit longer. Either way, we were quite happy. And to make sure your bottom crusts are totally done... use a pyrex pie plate, so you can take the pie out and LOOK at the bottom to check for browning. Works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great recipe. First time for me to make apple pie from scratch. I don't think I had a deep enough pan because with the filling I was able to make two pies. This one impressed my inlaws. They took one of the pies home. EASY and yummy....definitely I do again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
i can't believe i made a pie and it was so easy. it was great everyone raved. i can't stop patting my own back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States