Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I baked two pies using this recipe as written. Used Pillsbury Refridgerated Pie Crusts and Ida Red apples. Took them to a birthday party and got rave reviews from everyone! My sister had more the next day and had to call me to tell me just how wonderful it was. PERFECT recipe for apple pie! Pure and simple. I'm baking another now, using apple pie spice instead of just cinnamon. Yum! Great with ice cream on top too, of course. I also found I had no need to cover the edges of the pie with foil for some reason. I'm not sure if it's the crust I used, or because I turned the oven down to 325 and just let it bake a bit longer. Either way, we were quite happy. And to make sure your bottom crusts are totally done... use a pyrex pie plate, so you can take the pie out and LOOK at the bottom to check for browning. Works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great recipe. First time for me to make apple pie from scratch. I don't think I had a deep enough pan because with the filling I was able to make two pies. This one impressed my inlaws. They took one of the pies home. EASY and yummy....definitely I do again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
i can't believe i made a pie and it was so easy. it was great everyone raved. i can't stop patting my own back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
My fiance loves apple pie and he said this pie was OUT OF THIS WORLD it was so good. He practically inhaled it. I sprinkled some vanilla over the apple/sugar/cinnamon and I used 1 cup of sugar instead. I also used more butter - I placed pats of butter on top of the filling instead of little pieces. The thickness of the sauce was beautiful WITHOUT flour. There is nothing better than homemade! Definitely a five star recipe that can be modified to how you like it! Next time I will use some nutmeg and ground cloves. A winner if I ever made one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong but my came out a litt runny. I did add 1 tbl of lemon and vanilla and two tbl of flour so that it wouldn't come out runny, but it still did. I think my apples might have been too juicy. I will try again with different kind of apples, and maybe that should fix it. It was still super yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCAANNE22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Works very well! Sometimes I add a dash of ground cloves to the crust dough for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was the very first pie I have ever made... EVER!!! So not taking any chances I added the 2tbs of flour and some vanilla. I was very happy with my results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I am a hobby baker, was craving apple pie and was absolutely pleased with this receipt. Thought Grandma had baked it herself. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Great pie! I made it with the added vanilla mentioned above (I just sprinkled it on) and left out the butter, but it still tasted unbelievable. Works really well with an apple-crumble type top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Berry
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Here's what I did for 2 sour apple pies with a heart lattice top crust (see picture): Mix thinly sliced Granny Smith apples and double the remaining ingredients along with 2 Tbls. Flour, 2 Tbls. Lemon Juice, ½ Tsp. Vanilla and ½ Tsp. Nutmeg in a large bowl. Add this filling to 2 pie pans and top with lattice and hearts made from leftover dough. Brush top crust with egg wash (1 egg and 1 Tbls. milk beaten) to get a nice golden brown crust. Cover crust edges and hearts with foil held on with toothpicks so they don't over-brown. When pie comes out of oven, remove foil and toothpicks and sprinkle crust with a cinnamon sugar mixture. I used brown sugar instead of white for the filling. Add more sugar to get a sweeter pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States