Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe was very easy. I baked my first pie using it and it was delicious. I used the pre-made pie crust and only needed 4 cups (vs 8) of apples. The next time I try this I will tweak the recipe a bit and use some of the suggestions in the other reviews. I added 1 teaspoon of flour and it was a bit juicy. 2 teaspoons should make it turn out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinglovee!
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Loved it! I used a little nutmeg and brown sugar instead of white sugar. VERY good with whipped cream or ice cream. I made my own crust and it was delicious with the pie filling. When making crust, you should put some egg wash over it then sugar and it is the best. Thanks for the great recipe! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglovee!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aladyinredpolish
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was a fantastic pie. I made it with the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe found on this site. Make sure to use fresh apples, as when they are too ripe the filling gets runny. Also allow to set after baking. It will retain the structure better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aladyinredpolish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made this with pumpkin instead of apple, it turned out really well! Used brown sugar instead of white sugar. Also snuck some rum into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I think this is a simple an easy starter recipe. I made adjustments so thats why I gave it a 4star instead of 5 stars. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white sugar, 2tbsp of flour, 1 tsp lemon juice, and 1/2 tsp of vanillla, once in the pan I sprinkled generously with nutmeg then dabbed with 2tbsp of butter. I finally have a recipe my family loves and can TASTE!! they always say apple pies don't taste like anything.. this has done the trick and am currently making my second one this week right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymee Penrose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I loved this recipe! So simple to make and so tasty! I did add a pinch of nutmeg to it though, and it turned out fabulous! This recipe tastes so good warm with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very good starter recipe. I used pre-made refrigerated crust, and chopped up 7 apples. I took a reader's suggestion and added vanilla extract and mixed it with the apples. I think the sugar is too much - even 1/2 cup may be too much. Next time I may experiment with oats in lieu of extra sugar to retain some sort of binding element. I felt the pie missed something, perhaps more cinnamon to add flavor. Very good pie - will make again with modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This pie was AWESOME! It was my very first try at an apple pie, and it turned out perfectly. We served it to company, and after they left, my husband and I finished it off--we couldn't help ourselves! Thank you for making me look a pro pastry chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This apple pie was a hit!!! It will be added in our holiday rotation. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sef_B
Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Newfoundland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Upon removal from the oven, I discovered I had made "Apple Pie Soup!" It needs flour or something to thicken the natural apple juices that bake out of the apples. There is also too much sugar/ cinnamon in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States