Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
it was the best apple pie i have ever had and it was soooooo easy to make!! i made it for Thanksgiving and it was my first time making a apple pie and it came out GREAT!!!!!! i have made it 4 times sins Thanksgiving it is now a family favorite!!! but i did add 1 tsp of vanilla extract and on the top crusted i did a milk wash and then dusted it with sugar before cooking and its just the best apple pie ever!! this is a MUST try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe was really good on its own but it ended up a little flat. I think it needs more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, my first apple pie ever! It was so easy and everyone loved it. It's now my husbands favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaLu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Brought this pie into work and it got rave reviews! Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
My first pie, Very Delicious! I gave it a 4*'s only because I followed reviewers suggestions and it came out PERFECT, my husband absolutely loved it, my mother was impressed how well this came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
What an amazing recipe!! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Exceptional pie. This was my first time making a fresh apple pie. The receipe is quick and delicious. I loved this recipe. I added 2 tbls pf flour as suggested and lemon juice (fresh squeezed). Everything else I left exactly the same. It was fantastic. Everyone raved. Oh...I also added a egg wash to the top crust-1 egg and 1 tbls of heavy cream)- for extra flakiness. It was fabulous....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very basic recipe. Use more nutmeg!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This makes a delicious apple pie - the flavor is wonderful! I sliced 8 Breaburn apples into a large ziplock and tossed with 2 TBLS of lemon juice. Then I added 2 TBLS flour and tossed. Lastly, I added the sugar and cinnamon and tossed that. Dumped it all into my pie shell that I had brushed with egg wash. Brushed the top crust with egg wash and sprinkled with sugar. Cooked exactly as specified and the apples were still a little firm so it could have cooked a bit longer if you want a softer apple. I thought the finished product (firm apples and all) was Marvelous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thank you to the original poster and also the reviewers for helping me make the perfect apple pie. First, I used a pre-made pie shell, brushed it with egg white and pricked the bottom and sides. I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. After thinly slicing the apples I mixed them with 2 Tb of lemon juice to stop them from oxidizing (turning brown). Then I added 2 Tb of flour and the sugar and mixed it with the apples in a bowl. Then I poured this mixture into the pie shell, dotted the top with butter and added the top shell. I also brush the top shell with egg white and sprinkle some sugar. Then I baked it for about 55 min. When the edges browned I covered them with foil so they wouldn't burn. It's very important that you cook apple pie until there is no flowing liquid inside. This way your pie will not be soggy and will hold up like pie when served. I serve warm with a scoop of vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States