Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe in the fall when apples are so plentiful. This year, I made this recipe a few times and I have a freezer full of wonderful pie filling to use all year long. Makes a great pie! And since the apples are already cooked, the crust doesn't get overcooked waiting for the apples to cook down. I will keep this recipe forever! So great! Thanks, Terri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
A bit too much liquid, but other than that, very nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I love this recipe. I have now used it twice for Thanksgiving pies, and everybody always loves them. I do think that there is too much liquid, so I reduced the amount by about 1/2 cup and then when it came to a boil I let it evaporate some. The end result was great...you could eat the filling alone it is soooo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This is delicious--and it makes the house smell so great when I cook it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This was great, and very easy. I made a small batch of it on Sunday morning to serve over crepes, and it took just a few minutes to whip up and impress my husband. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I also reduce the water, but by almost 3 cups. I make the recipe as a double batch in a 20 QT pot, so the fresh-from-the-orchard (key point) apples always make a lot of their own juice. I have found that 1 cup of apple equates closely to 1 apple, so it makes measuring them less tedious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This is exactly what I was looking for. I took the filling, wrapped it in egg roll wraps, and deep fried them. Absolutely wonderful. This is the best website I have ever found. Love Allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munising, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I was looking for a good apple filling recipe that would be good with french toast (pockets), and this was GREAT. Not too sweet just right for my taste and others. I'll be using this again for a other apple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
EXCELLENT! I have finally found a use for the numerous amounts of apples that my tree produces (well another use besides all of the neighborhood kids throwing them at each other - HA). This was easy, delicious, and very universal in that it can be used for pies or just heated with ice cream on top. Thanks so much Terri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I love this recipe! I went to an apple orchard and got jonathan apples and scaled back on the water called for to 5 cups and increased my apples to 24 cups as orchard apples tend to be juicier.) I found this out by trial as my first batch came out a little heavy on the sauce and light on apple pieces. By doing this, my apple pie cut into neat pieces (when it cooled) without all that sauce oozing out onto the pan between slices. (Since you have decreased the water, you should also decrease your cornstarch by 1/3) I like this recipe so much that I have made 4 batches of this pie filling to freeze so I have it all winter. This was a 5 star winner on taste, texture, appearance, how it made my house smell, how much my kids loved it, althought they hated peeling all those apples. A definate recipe to use over and over and over...and to pass down to your kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
464 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States