Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fantastic recipe! turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great recipe, I just hope it tastes as good after being froze as it did making it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bamsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Kearneysville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I used 25 apples and the same amount of liquid and found it to still have too much sauce. After draining a little off I had enough of the sauce to add pears for 2 more pies. But the flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn McDowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Super easy, we made four batches. I cut the sugar in half and used a quart of water for each batch. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe. I agree with previous reviews... there is too much water, but I encourage you to make it "as is". When I make a batch, I take out about 1-2 cups of the liquid and put it in a dressing bottle (the kind that you get for free when you make itallian dressing). It makes a great topping to icecream, pancakes, french toast... you name it! I put the rest in pies or the freezer. When I bake it, it holds together wonderfully and tastes phenomenol! I encourage you to try this recipe and tweak it to your needs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
mmmmm......just sayin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
very nice.. everyone loves this pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm an average cook in the kitchen and tried this reciepe. I did not have to alter anything at all. My pies came out delicious and perfect for our taste. I had absouletly no trouble with the reciepe. Thank you Terri for sharing such a wonderful and all american apple pie reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Very flavor-full!!! My daughter tried a spoonful and said it tastes just like the apple pie filling we use in our crepes! No more canned filling for me! I brought the water to boil and then added 2 c flour since I didn't have cornstarch or tapioca. I whisked out most of the lumps and then added 2 c white and 2 c brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp all spice. You really need to watch this boiling because it will stick to the bottom. I added the apples after 2-3 min of the sauce boiling but I didn't leave the apples on the full 6-8 minutes since I wanted my apples a little more firm and the mixture was already really hot so it helped soften them just be mixing them up. I used golden delicious apples from my local orchard. Most of the "notes" are for me personally so I can remember what I did. It came out amazing - you really should try it. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
On my second year of making it. On the advice of other, cutting down the water is a must. Flavor excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States