Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I've never made an apple pie before but this filling gets 5 stars from me. I cut the recipe in half and let the apples sit in a bowl filled with lemon-lime soda instead of lemon juice. Thanks for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
WOW! What a great recipe! The last time I made an apple pie, it came out too tart >:P But THIS recipe is JUST RIGHT :D I scaled the recipe down a bit, and used half brown sugar/half white sugar. But I have a question about when you freeze the filling...When you take it out of the freezer to use, do you need to defrost it first? And can I just refrigerate the filling instead of freezing it? Thanks for posting this recipe :) I will be using it from now on...maybe even with a homemade pie crust :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Very simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbunnynoir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I had fewer apples, and rather than do math, I just went all screwy with proportions. So I ended up with a lot more liquid than I wanted. To solve that, I scooped out the perfectly cooked apples with a slotted spoon, added a little more cornstarch and simmered the liquid a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I have a macintosh apple tree in my back yard and was dreading what to do with them. I searched and found this recipe. I loved the reviews so changed it a bit myself. I used 2 1/2 cups of brown sugar, 2 cups of white sugar. Increased the apples to 22 cups and reduced the water to 8 cups. Amazing. I think I'll make a couple more batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I just made this for the first time today. I also reduced the sugar to 2 cups and the water to 4 cups The next time I would probably reduce the sugar a little more (maybe 1 1/2) and leave the water the same or even reduce it a little. If I keep the water the same, I would add a little more cornstarch. I also made a second batch with Splenda and was pleased with the results but would alter the recipe the same as mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I love how easy this is to make. I would put more cinnamon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Reduced water as so many others suggested. It was very easy to make and made my house smell wonderful! I just used some to make apple crisp for my family and this is the BEST pie filling! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent filling. Could use a bit more spices and LESS WATER. Six cups was perfect for us, seven would probably be fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States