Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Tasted great but WAY too much liquid. Needs adjusting if you don't have a reason to use the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was great tasting and easy to make. I would rate five stars, but I had to boil them a bit longer than the recipe called for to get the apples as tender as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooks
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I agree with previous raters that it does need to have a tiny bit less water, but only because the fresh apple slices have so much juice that they make up for it. I also soaked the heck out of the apples (they were golden delicious and a bit sweet to start with) this helped keep the recipe a little bit more tart than sweet. I also added a teaspoon of apple pie spice for a little bit stronger apple pie flavor. I've made apple pies, apple pie in a jar, and used this for ice cream and waffle topping. Its sooo yummy! I'm bad with leftovers, so I converted it to about one pie size (8 servings US), and added about 2 more extra cups of apple slices, and it was sooo good! I highly to everyone who likes apple pie. Thanks for the submission! ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was great, but I did end up with about 2 cups of liquid apple starchy goo that wouldn't fit into the pie, so water/cornstarch could be seriously reduced. I've been using the goo to make oatmeal. I also had trouble with the baking...first it was frozen in the middle, then over cooked. I'll have to experiment some next time. I also prefer to thicken my pie with flour instead of cornstarch, but that is easy enough to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fantastic recipe! turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great recipe, I just hope it tastes as good after being froze as it did making it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bamsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Kearneysville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I used 25 apples and the same amount of liquid and found it to still have too much sauce. After draining a little off I had enough of the sauce to add pears for 2 more pies. But the flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn McDowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Super easy, we made four batches. I cut the sugar in half and used a quart of water for each batch. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe. I agree with previous reviews... there is too much water, but I encourage you to make it "as is". When I make a batch, I take out about 1-2 cups of the liquid and put it in a dressing bottle (the kind that you get for free when you make itallian dressing). It makes a great topping to icecream, pancakes, french toast... you name it! I put the rest in pies or the freezer. When I bake it, it holds together wonderfully and tastes phenomenol! I encourage you to try this recipe and tweak it to your needs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States