Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I wanted to make a can of apple pie filling (my recipe called for two) so I scaled this back to 10 and made it with 6 cups of granny smith apples. I scaled the water back to 1 1/2 cups and this made a great tasting filling that was the right consistency to come out of a can. Also cut the sugar down to 1 cup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
A hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was good, did not have nutmeg used allspice and cardamom. Someone mentioned using full liquid amounts and using reserve for ice cream. Must do. I put my leftover liquid(of love) over vanilla bean ice cream. I made yummy noises every bite. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebirdhouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Wonderful and easy recipe! The flavor was delicious! I halved it and used it in tartlets. I also used peaches rather than apples and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very good flavor! I use this filling with BBQ sauce to cook pork chops in my crock pot....AWESOME! Thank you for posting the recipe and will be freezing the rest for future meals and desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracePCC3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I have made this a few years in a row with the apples from my neighbor's tree. She doesn't spray them, they look awful, but they are delicious. Hubby loves this because he can take one out of the freezer and make his own pie when the mood strikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Zamojcin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I wanted to find a recipe online that didn't involve the long process of canning. I found this recipe and I am glad I did. It was very good. On another note like the other reviews said this yielded too much liquid. I only had 5lbs of Golden Delicious apples so I used Allrecipes conversion caluculator to figure out ingredients. I ended up cutting out 3/4 cup of water because I had no idea how much to take out. I could have taken a little more out. Also I could have cut out a little bit of the sugar since I used golden delicious apples. Overall this is a great recipe. I will make this again. *This makes a great apple crisp filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Tasted great but WAY too much liquid. Needs adjusting if you don't have a reason to use the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was great tasting and easy to make. I would rate five stars, but I had to boil them a bit longer than the recipe called for to get the apples as tender as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooks
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States