Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was good, did not have nutmeg used allspice and cardamom. Someone mentioned using full liquid amounts and using reserve for ice cream. Must do. I put my leftover liquid(of love) over vanilla bean ice cream. I made yummy noises every bite. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebirdhouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Wonderful and easy recipe! The flavor was delicious! I halved it and used it in tartlets. I also used peaches rather than apples and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very good flavor! I use this filling with BBQ sauce to cook pork chops in my crock pot....AWESOME! Thank you for posting the recipe and will be freezing the rest for future meals and desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracePCC3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I have made this a few years in a row with the apples from my neighbor's tree. She doesn't spray them, they look awful, but they are delicious. Hubby loves this because he can take one out of the freezer and make his own pie when the mood strikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Zamojcin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I wanted to find a recipe online that didn't involve the long process of canning. I found this recipe and I am glad I did. It was very good. On another note like the other reviews said this yielded too much liquid. I only had 5lbs of Golden Delicious apples so I used Allrecipes conversion caluculator to figure out ingredients. I ended up cutting out 3/4 cup of water because I had no idea how much to take out. I could have taken a little more out. Also I could have cut out a little bit of the sugar since I used golden delicious apples. Overall this is a great recipe. I will make this again. *This makes a great apple crisp filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Tasted great but WAY too much liquid. Needs adjusting if you don't have a reason to use the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was great tasting and easy to make. I would rate five stars, but I had to boil them a bit longer than the recipe called for to get the apples as tender as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooks
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I agree with previous raters that it does need to have a tiny bit less water, but only because the fresh apple slices have so much juice that they make up for it. I also soaked the heck out of the apples (they were golden delicious and a bit sweet to start with) this helped keep the recipe a little bit more tart than sweet. I also added a teaspoon of apple pie spice for a little bit stronger apple pie flavor. I've made apple pies, apple pie in a jar, and used this for ice cream and waffle topping. Its sooo yummy! I'm bad with leftovers, so I converted it to about one pie size (8 servings US), and added about 2 more extra cups of apple slices, and it was sooo good! I highly to everyone who likes apple pie. Thanks for the submission! ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was great, but I did end up with about 2 cups of liquid apple starchy goo that wouldn't fit into the pie, so water/cornstarch could be seriously reduced. I've been using the goo to make oatmeal. I also had trouble with the baking...first it was frozen in the middle, then over cooked. I'll have to experiment some next time. I also prefer to thicken my pie with flour instead of cornstarch, but that is easy enough to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States