Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The flavor is great! Despite the problems I had with this recipe, I'm giving it the 5 star rating for the flavor, and because I know how to fix my problems. Based on other reviews, I used 8 cups of water instead of 10, and decreased the cornstarch from 1 cup to one half cup. I used 3x 3lb bags of Granny Smith apples, and even with the amendments, there was a quart of juice left after using all of the apples to fill my pie shells. I have decided to use 4 bags of apples next time (each bag is about 8 cups), keep the water at 8 cups, but use the entire 1 cup of cornstarch. I filled 3x 9" pie shells plus an 8" pie shell. When this recipe says it makes 5 pies, it must mean 5x 8" pies. My husband loves the flavor, so I know I have ended my quest for the perfect pie filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My brother is tough to give me high ratings, but when I made this, he said it was the best dessert he had ever tasted!!! Great recipe - but I definitely scaled it down. I had set up enough ingredients for the whole thing until I realized it would make 40 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this last year for the first time using Cortland apples. Even after a year, the filling was fabulous and wasn't runny at all even after the pies had cooled. Was a big hit with family and friends. Making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
In a word...delicious. This recipe was easy and quick. Like the other reviews mentioned I substantially reduced the amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
A great recipe, changed up the spices a bit to our own liking and used 5 cups of water. Try freezing in 5 1gallon zip bags. Place bags in the size aluminum pie tin you intend to use, so they freeze pie shaped. Then when you want to make a pie, simply line the pan with the crust and plop in the "filling puck", cover with top crust or crumb topping and bake....saves a step! Great recipe I Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
DON'T use cornstarch if you're going to freeze this - it will separate and turn into a spongy glob. Choose tapioca starch or sweet rice flour instead. Otherwise it's a tasty pick me up in February!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Yum! This is perfect as written. I had 25 c of apples, so I adjusted ingredients accordingly. My daughter and I like cinnamon, so we added 3 tsp per recipe. My kids want to eat it out of the pot! Thanks for a great recipe. I will be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I scaled this recipe down to one pie's worth of filling. It sounded pretty bland, so I doubled the cinnamon and quadrupled the nutmeg. I also used sweetener instead of sugar to axe calories. Overall, I found: 1. There was not enough apples for the amount of sauce, and 2. there was not enough filling (apples AND sauce) to fill one pie. Despite having to add more apples, and make a whole extra batch to fill my pie, I'll give this recipe five stars. I'm an absolute novice cook- engaged, and trying to build my recipe repertoire. This filling is very easy to make, and it seems like it would lend itself well to other pies, if one substituted different fruits and spices- a real keeper. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I wanted to make a can of apple pie filling (my recipe called for two) so I scaled this back to 10 and made it with 6 cups of granny smith apples. I scaled the water back to 1 1/2 cups and this made a great tasting filling that was the right consistency to come out of a can. Also cut the sugar down to 1 cup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
A hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States