Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I love this recipe! I went to an apple orchard and got jonathan apples and scaled back on the water called for to 5 cups and increased my apples to 24 cups as orchard apples tend to be juicier.) I found this out by trial as my first batch came out a little heavy on the sauce and light on apple pieces. By doing this, my apple pie cut into neat pieces (when it cooled) without all that sauce oozing out onto the pan between slices. (Since you have decreased the water, you should also decrease your cornstarch by 1/3) I like this recipe so much that I have made 4 batches of this pie filling to freeze so I have it all winter. This was a 5 star winner on taste, texture, appearance, how it made my house smell, how much my kids loved it, althought they hated peeling all those apples. A definate recipe to use over and over and over...and to pass down to your kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This makes the best apple pie filling ever. I cut the water back to 8 cups and increased the cinnamon and added more nutmeg. I have made pies both from the fresh mixture and frozen mixtures. I always make it with an oatmeal brown sugar crumb topping (different every time, just mix brown sugar, oats, butter, cinnamon, nutmeg and a little flour to help hold it together until it feels right) and have rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I also reduce the water, but by almost 3 cups. I make the recipe as a double batch in a 20 QT pot, so the fresh-from-the-orchard (key point) apples always make a lot of their own juice. I have found that 1 cup of apple equates closely to 1 apple, so it makes measuring them less tedious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
WONDERFUL!!! We kept original recipe to make apple topping every year (new addition to our cupboard so we were very happy). Our biggest mistake was not beginning the 6-8 minute cooking period immediately after apples were added to sauce (we overcooked). That first attempt began our new tradition of apple topping ! YUMM-O! Next we made the filling as other reviewers (24 cup apple & 5 Cup water), and lowered sugar since we were not using Granny Smith. We began timing apple cooking IMMEDIATELY upon adding apples to sauce and only cooked 6 minutes which left apples firm - Now we have perfection! THANK YOU FOR THIS WONDERUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
OH MY GOSH, this is great!!! I am a professional baker and am always looking for new formulas. I found this to be very easy to follow and easy to prepare. I reduced the nutmag by 1/2 and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 granulated. I followed the formula for the amount of apples and it didn't look like enough, so I added 3-4 cups more apples. After the mixture cooled, I filled the pie crust and baked, the shop smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe in the fall when apples are so plentiful. This year, I made this recipe a few times and I have a freezer full of wonderful pie filling to use all year long. Makes a great pie! And since the apples are already cooked, the crust doesn't get overcooked waiting for the apples to cook down. I will keep this recipe forever! So great! Thanks, Terri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I have an apple tree in the backyard and had heard you could freeze apple pie filling but never had a recipe. When I saw this recipe it was perfect timing. I took the advice of others and reduced the water to 6 cups water to 12 cups apples. In a peach filling recipe on the website, they suggested to freeze the peaches in a foil lined pie plate with foil on top. When it froze, remove it from the plate. Cook in oven at 425 degrees on the bottom rack then lower the temperature. I tried this with this apple pie filling and it was marvelous. I look forward to another apple pie this holiday. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Based on other reviews about how it made a scanty 5 pies, I increased the recipe to make 64 servings. So glad I did... it filled my 6 pie plates perfectly. I cut the water in half and for that half used 1/2 apple juice - 1/2 water. I also decreased the sugar by a cup and slightly increased the cornstarch because there is nothing I hate more than a watery pie! Everything smelled and tasted delicious. I lined 6 foil pie plates with saran wrap, then portioned out the filling. Into the freezer they go, then when frozen I'll pop them out, wrap them up and when its time to bake I can place the pre-formed filling in the crust and bake. The foil plates are slightly smaller than a traditional pie plate, so the fit is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuLait

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
all in all not bad. but definetly cut back on the water . I used 7 cups and was still too much. 5 cups of water is probally enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY11

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I love this recipe. I have now used it twice for Thanksgiving pies, and everybody always loves them. I do think that there is too much liquid, so I reduced the amount by about 1/2 cup and then when it came to a boil I let it evaporate some. The end result was great...you could eat the filling alone it is soooo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States