Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious! i loved it i made 1/4 of the recipie adn didnt freeze it i made 1 apple pie and it was mmm good! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne365

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wonderful & if you want a little richer taste add about 1 cup of brown sugar & a dash of cloves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This filling is perfect. I wouldn't make any changes to it. I used granny smith apples and they ended up being just right, not too sweet and not too tart. Also, the filling may seem a bit runny, but, after you bake it in a pie and it cools and sits, it stays in the slices of pie. If you thicken it up anymore than the recipe calls for, I think you may end up with pie filling that is entirely too thick once you bake it into a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was good. I cut the sugar by half. As another reviewer mentioned, the amount of sugar you use can depend on the sweetness of the apples and personal preference. It will be nice to have this in the freezer ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I followed the ingredients to a T but decided to put this in the crockpot over night.... what a wonderful recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Didn't use the lemon and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Due to a bumper crop of apples at a neighbor's house I decided to try this recipe. Absolutely great! I was first concerned that the spices would not be enough flavor but still followed the recipe as written. WOW! We probably will not get the five pies out of it as one containers is in the refrigerator and is half gone (warmed in the microwave for ice cream topping and a side dish to pork.) Thanks for a great recipe Terri, a definite "keeper." Now onto applesauce and apple butter for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is very sweet. Next time I will only use half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I've never made an apple pie before but this filling gets 5 stars from me. I cut the recipe in half and let the apples sit in a bowl filled with lemon-lime soda instead of lemon juice. Thanks for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
WOW! What a great recipe! The last time I made an apple pie, it came out too tart >:P But THIS recipe is JUST RIGHT :D I scaled the recipe down a bit, and used half brown sugar/half white sugar. But I have a question about when you freeze the filling...When you take it out of the freezer to use, do you need to defrost it first? And can I just refrigerate the filling instead of freezing it? Thanks for posting this recipe :) I will be using it from now on...maybe even with a homemade pie crust :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States