Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
mmmmm......just sayin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
very nice.. everyone loves this pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm an average cook in the kitchen and tried this reciepe. I did not have to alter anything at all. My pies came out delicious and perfect for our taste. I had absouletly no trouble with the reciepe. Thank you Terri for sharing such a wonderful and all american apple pie reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Very flavor-full!!! My daughter tried a spoonful and said it tastes just like the apple pie filling we use in our crepes! No more canned filling for me! I brought the water to boil and then added 2 c flour since I didn't have cornstarch or tapioca. I whisked out most of the lumps and then added 2 c white and 2 c brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp all spice. You really need to watch this boiling because it will stick to the bottom. I added the apples after 2-3 min of the sauce boiling but I didn't leave the apples on the full 6-8 minutes since I wanted my apples a little more firm and the mixture was already really hot so it helped soften them just be mixing them up. I used golden delicious apples from my local orchard. Most of the "notes" are for me personally so I can remember what I did. It came out amazing - you really should try it. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
On my second year of making it. On the advice of other, cutting down the water is a must. Flavor excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I wanted a nice apple filling for an Apple Coffee Cake I'm going to make this week and this is fantastic. Cortlands were not available at the market so I used Macintosh. Hard to believe a slug like me can produce a filling like this. Thank you, Terri - we'll be thinking of you when we're all enjoying our coffee cake :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I have made many apple pies in my time, and this is by far the best. I ran out of cornstarch, so just added some tapioka to what cornstarch I had and the pies turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I used Splenda instead of sugar for my grandpa who is diabetic and it worked out great! the flavor was perfect the only thing is it came out a little runny (two much water) which I noticed other reviewers experienced so I don't think it was because of the Splenda so Ill use less water next time. This was surprisingly easy to make-the apple prep took the longest (which you have to do anyway) but the rest of the recipe was a breeze just a lot of stirring when you put the sugar corn starch cin, salt and nut meg together to boil. (if you don't mix consistently it clumps up so don't skip on mixing. I will make again thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used half the water and sugar, doubled the spices using half cinnamon and half pumpkin pie spice, added a splash of vanilla, used my immersion blender to mash up half of the apples, used the filling for apple pie pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States