Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I cut the sugar back by half and easily could have scaled it back to one cup. The first batch I made had too much liquid so on the second batch I added another four cups of sliced apples....that made it perfect. Either add more apples, or reduce your liquid. I used an extra 1/4 tsp of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was the first pie I had ever made and it was really, really good and easy to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I never knew that I could make my own pie filling like you could buy in the store. I always just added my ingredients into a pie shell and baked it. I love the way this turned out. I did change the amount of apples to about 24 cups, added 3 tablespoons of corn starch, increased nutmeg to 1 teaspoon and added a teaspoon of cloves. It is absolutely delish! Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this one again, and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Used apples we got from my friend's apple tree (granny smith?) Made good pie filling but was way too much water, I think. I cut back to 7 c and it was still very saucy. 5 would be good, but adjust the cornstarch accordingly or it will be glue. I used 2 c. white sugar and 1 c. brown sugar. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ann Raymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Made this exactly as instructed and froze. Still enjoying this months later! Everyone LOVES it. I make mine "French" with a brown sugar and butter topping instead of adding more crust on top. I'll be making more to freeze for this next year, as this was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I first tried this recipe when I rescued dozens of apples after a blow down (before the squirrels cold make off with them!). My pies got such raves reviews that now it's my Go To recipe for apple pie. I find that it only fills four pies, but I think that's because my home grown apples (of a forgotten variety) are on the small side :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made a scaled down version of this recipe to use in ‘Allie’s Awesome Easy Spice Cake’ recipe as I didn’t have a can of apple pie filling on hand. A great suggestion from Linda (LMT) – thank you. After trying this recipe, I have no need to purchase apple pie filling anymore. This had great flavor and was very simple to make. It had more sauce than what I needed, so my guys reheated the sauce and poured it on their cake. I can’t wait to try this again and make an apple pie with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very good. Nice balance of spice without being overdone. I thought there was a little too much liquid to apples once it was cooked but that was easily fixed, I simply removed a few spoonfuls (I would rather have too much than not enough). I used this pie filling to make an Apple Spice cake that called for apple pie filling. Loved using my own instead of buying a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
i have used this reciepe as a base for making apple crumble, as i am on a budget i buy tinned apple used the sauce recipe with the tinned apple for the apple crumble filling. perfect every single time I make it. it is now a family favourite !! love it,love it!!!!! i down size the recipe of course to feed our family of five but still turns out perfect every single time , highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Gubb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitianga, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was really easy to do and I scaled it back to make only what I needed. I prefer to add extra apples, as if it's too saucy it's a bit too sweet for me. Plus, I add ground cloves. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States