Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very good. Nice balance of spice without being overdone. I thought there was a little too much liquid to apples once it was cooked but that was easily fixed, I simply removed a few spoonfuls (I would rather have too much than not enough). I used this pie filling to make an Apple Spice cake that called for apple pie filling. Loved using my own instead of buying a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
i have used this reciepe as a base for making apple crumble, as i am on a budget i buy tinned apple used the sauce recipe with the tinned apple for the apple crumble filling. perfect every single time I make it. it is now a family favourite !! love it,love it!!!!! i down size the recipe of course to feed our family of five but still turns out perfect every single time , highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitianga, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was really easy to do and I scaled it back to make only what I needed. I prefer to add extra apples, as if it's too saucy it's a bit too sweet for me. Plus, I add ground cloves. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
For Thanksgiving I am thankful for this recipe b/c it was a hit. A+, Very very good. And if you have guests that are diabetic, or are lowering their calories, and sugar intake I replaced the sugar with Truvia baking blend (just follow packaging measure conversion), it was wonderful and with no aftertaste. And as for the water just put in enough water to cover your apples, and add more/or less depending on the type of apples used. and don't forget to change the serving size to edit your measurements for the ingredients (the above recipe calls for 5 pies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is so easy and so delicious. It is better than the canned filling from the store because there are so many more whole slices and not so much of the jelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The flavor is great! Despite the problems I had with this recipe, I'm giving it the 5 star rating for the flavor, and because I know how to fix my problems. Based on other reviews, I used 8 cups of water instead of 10, and decreased the cornstarch from 1 cup to one half cup. I used 3x 3lb bags of Granny Smith apples, and even with the amendments, there was a quart of juice left after using all of the apples to fill my pie shells. I have decided to use 4 bags of apples next time (each bag is about 8 cups), keep the water at 8 cups, but use the entire 1 cup of cornstarch. I filled 3x 9" pie shells plus an 8" pie shell. When this recipe says it makes 5 pies, it must mean 5x 8" pies. My husband loves the flavor, so I know I have ended my quest for the perfect pie filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My brother is tough to give me high ratings, but when I made this, he said it was the best dessert he had ever tasted!!! Great recipe - but I definitely scaled it down. I had set up enough ingredients for the whole thing until I realized it would make 40 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this last year for the first time using Cortland apples. Even after a year, the filling was fabulous and wasn't runny at all even after the pies had cooled. Was a big hit with family and friends. Making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
In a word...delicious. This recipe was easy and quick. Like the other reviews mentioned I substantially reduced the amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
A great recipe, changed up the spices a bit to our own liking and used 5 cups of water. Try freezing in 5 1gallon zip bags. Place bags in the size aluminum pie tin you intend to use, so they freeze pie shaped. Then when you want to make a pie, simply line the pan with the crust and plop in the "filling puck", cover with top crust or crumb topping and bake....saves a step! Great recipe I Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States