Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I cut the water back also. I always put the filling in a pie plate & freeze it. When frozen, free it from the plate and slip it into a plastic bag. Store in the freezer until ready to bake. This way it is all ready to place in the prepared pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We love this recipe! Of course I read the other reviews and adjusted the water and maybe the sugar (after a while, recipes run together lol). I did make one addition, I added cranberries to 4 of the quarts I made. I just bought more cranberries so when I make this again, I will have them on hand to add to the whole batch! The pie with the cranberries lasted overnight before it was gone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
The recipe is great. There's something wrong with the formula because I did 18 cups of apples and I only got 2 PIES!! And, they're not very full pies either! The flavor is delicious though. I took the apples and froze them in pie plates to keep the shape and make it easy for me later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I have this cooking right now. I took a lot of reviews and kind of melded them together. I love cinnamon so I used 3tsp instead of 2. I used 2 tsp. nutmeg, 5 cups of water 3/4 cups of cornstarch. I used 2c.brown/2c. white sugars. I boiled all of this a little longer than called for so that it would cook down. Then I added it to the crock pot of apples (18 cups of apples) and will let that cook on low until the apples are softened but not mush. I will let you know how it turns out. I did taste the liquid before adding it to the apples and it was so good. Can't wait for the end result. Well I finally made a pie with this. It was the best apple pie I have EVER made or eaten. I made the filling a year ago and when it cooled, I thought it was too runny but I put it in the freezer anyway. I put it into ziplocs in pie tins and vacuumed the air out. When it was time to make the pie I just layed the frozen filling in the pie crust and topped it with the top crust. After it was baked and cooled slightly I topped it with a mixture of 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1T milk, 1/4t vanilla and 1T softened butter. I will never make apple pie any other way! BTW when I cut into the pie the filling was not runny, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debhallass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a great recipe. The first time I made it as is, it was way to much water for the amount of apples. Second time I made it I used 6 cps of water and 20 cps of apples. I used just 4 cps o sugar and it is still plenty sweet enough. I have not made a pie from the filling yet, but it is wonderful on pancakes and waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florence, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fawn_eyes888
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe was so easy and was perfect way to use a bunch of apples. I did add a 3rd Tablespoon of cinnamon and I doubled the nutmeg since I like a spicy and rich filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Just made this today. The warm filling tasted wonderful in the pan-I can't wait to prepare my Thanksgiving pie with these! I did decrease the amount of water and halved all the other ingredients because I didn't have 18 cups of apples(I approximate about 12 cups). This is just the recipe I have been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Since I had just bought a 1/2 bushel of fresh Granny Smith apples from the orchards up in N. Georgia Mountains. I followed the advice of a couple of different ladies, because of the juice in the fresh apples. I reduced the water to only 5 cups and went with 24 cups of sliced apples and decreased the amount of cornstarch by 1/3 cup. I have to say that was BRILLIANT. It came out perfect. I used 3 tsp. of Apple Pie Seasonings, and 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 reg. sugar. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I've got tons of apples from a private orchard and I just don't have the patience to pare and core 18 cups of them at once. So I did 1/3 of the recipe and the filling is lovely. I added some red food coloring in case I decide to make tarts or something festive and decorative. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We picked a ton of apples at an orchard last year and I needed to use the apples quickly before my youngest was born, so I made this filling to put in the freezer for an easy pie or other dessert. I just pulled some out of the freezer yesterday (yes, a YEAR LATER) and it was delicious! I made an apple crisp with it. The only issue I had was that there wasn't enough "sauce" when I finally baked it..which is probably why people thought there was too much water in the recipe. I cut down on the water like other reviewers said, but I don't think that they took into account what the freezer process would do to the sauce. Next time I would add all the water to it so that it has a lot of sauce and then when I baked it, it would be the perfect amount. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States