Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I've got tons of apples from a private orchard and I just don't have the patience to pare and core 18 cups of them at once. So I did 1/3 of the recipe and the filling is lovely. I added some red food coloring in case I decide to make tarts or something festive and decorative. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We picked a ton of apples at an orchard last year and I needed to use the apples quickly before my youngest was born, so I made this filling to put in the freezer for an easy pie or other dessert. I just pulled some out of the freezer yesterday (yes, a YEAR LATER) and it was delicious! I made an apple crisp with it. The only issue I had was that there wasn't enough "sauce" when I finally baked it..which is probably why people thought there was too much water in the recipe. I cut down on the water like other reviewers said, but I don't think that they took into account what the freezer process would do to the sauce. Next time I would add all the water to it so that it has a lot of sauce and then when I baked it, it would be the perfect amount. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Wonderful flavor but.... I cut the water to 8 cups and added 2 more cups of apples... was still way too much liquid. I did add a heaping teaspoon of vanilla after cooking... All in all a VERY good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This recipe is Awesome!! I cut it back cause I only needed the filling for one pie. Next time I will make as listed and freeze cause it is that good. I admit, it was a little saucy, but I like the sauce while my husband likes the apples. So having some on reserve for myself is Great. I also had a couple spoonfuls of sauce after I put the reserve in a bottle and am at this moment eating it on toast. Yum! Yum! Yum! and did I mention Yum!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I have to say, I'm impressed! This was the first time making a pie filling that was to be frozen. I froze them for about a month and just opened one today. I loved how thick the filling was, with just the right amount of apples. I used a crumb topping on this and it was TO.DIE.FOR!! I'll definitely be saving this, as we own an orchard and always have an abundance of apples! THANKS for such a great recipe, that's easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Awesome Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Love this recipe but i don't have freezer space so i canned it..turned out great!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Just cooked this up. It's cooling now!! SO glad I reduced the water to 5 cups. Left all the rest exactly as is!! I picked apples last weekend on an apple farm where my mom lives. They are Auvil Fuji's. The filling is DELICIOUS!! Can't wait to make my first pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I cut the sugar back by half and easily could have scaled it back to one cup. The first batch I made had too much liquid so on the second batch I added another four cups of sliced apples....that made it perfect. Either add more apples, or reduce your liquid. I used an extra 1/4 tsp of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was the first pie I had ever made and it was really, really good and easy to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States