Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Reduced water as so many others suggested. It was very easy to make and made my house smell wonderful! I just used some to make apple crisp for my family and this is the BEST pie filling! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent filling. Could use a bit more spices and LESS WATER. Six cups was perfect for us, seven would probably be fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NWDryad
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great! Will definitely make this again the next time my apple trees over-produce, as they did this year. As others did, I made some modifications. I originally started out to do 18 cups, but I had a few apples left over so I ended up with about 22 cups. I used 7 cups of water. I ran out of cornstarch, so I substituted ClearGel, which seemed to work fine. Next time I will cut down on the spices and use less water, maybe 5 cups for 22-24 cups of apple slices, since my homegrown apples are quite juicy. (Spice tip--put in a little cardamom for a fresh taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWDryad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
THIS sounds Dee-licious!! ; ) We go to the orchard every year, so I think we'll make up a few batches of these for the freezer! And some of the reviews also sound good for this recipe too! Thanks Terri for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I changed a few things as well based on other people's reviews. Used 20 cups of apples, but should have used about 22-24 cups as there was lots of sauce. I used 8 cups of water and kept corn starch at 1 cup. Also added extra cinnamon and nutmeg as husband said it "needs more kick". Turned out really well! Would have rated at 5 stars if I hadn't needed to make changes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
A little too much water for me. Good flavor though. Next time I will cut down on the water and add more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I just made the filling and it tastes so good! I only had enough sugar for 2 cups, but this is the perfect sweetness for me. I can't imagine how sweet it would be with the full amount, and am glad I only did 2 cups. I am excited to freeze the batches and use it in apple crisps and other yummy apple desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Great Pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Absolutely amazing apple pie filling. I used some of it the same night and it was a little watery, but not bad. Consistency is much better after freezing overnight and then thawing. I'll definitely be going apple picking this fall and make a big batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Perna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States