Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I'm an intermediate level baker, and this was my first pie. I cheated and used store bought crust, and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the FIVE apples I used, but other than that I followed the recipe. This came out great!! DO REMEMBER to put the pie on a foil lined baking sheet because it will spill and be messy, but SO WORTH IT! I don't usually indulge much in the things I bake, not because they're not good, but because they're not THIS good. I'm small, but I ate half the pie in 2 days! My husband devoured the other half. I know what I'm bringing to Thanksgiving this year! Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
made the apple pie last year, my husband loved it, will make it again tomorrow, with home grown apples, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This pie doesn't last through the night in this house. It's such an easy recipe and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is the best thing I have ever made! It was gone in less than 2 minutes!! Follow SCIOTA'S review. It is the second one down. Trust me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
First apple pie I have ever made on my own and my family loved it! I followed some others advice and added 1 T vanilla and a little cinnamon and it was so delicious! Won't ever try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Easy and amazing! I used a variety of fresh picked apples for a subtle variable for each bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We tried it without any alterations and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This pie was surprisingly very good…. as strange as it may seem to boil the "juice" and then pour it over the top crust… it was perfect! I will make it again, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lennon Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was the most amazing apple pie I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly. I was skeptical because it looked watery when it cam out of the oven, but it jelled up nicely once it cooled to room temperature. By the time I served it, there was no excess liquid, the apples were tender but not mushy and the crust was absolutely to die for with the sauce baked on it. Next time I will try adding cinnamon to the apples. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States