Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Most of the syrup stayed on top, bums me out. Probably still gonna taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Heins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I've been baking pies over 40 years, and this is the best pie recipe I've ever made! Thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Needs Cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Best apple pie I have ver made! I made it for a family dinner and everyone else said that it was the best apple pie they ever ate! You have to follow the recipe exactly as it says. I thought it was weird that it wanted the sugar mixture poured over the entire pie before baking because I didn't think it was going to come out good. But my assumption was dead wrong! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Ok this is seriously the best apple pie I have ever eaten! Very easy recipe and I am impressed! !! My husband agrees. I never would write a review, but this recipe deserves it! Delicious! !! The only thing I changed was I added a tsp of cinnamon and used Crisco instead of butter. ....soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Worked out great tasted great. I omitted the salt and added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
In my 47 years, I have made many, many apple pies from various recipes. Finally I have found my "keeper", my go-to apple pie. This pie is extraordinary. Aside from 3 exceptions, I made this pie as per instructions. Instead of water in the sauce, I used an equal amount of half and half. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1 1/2 half teaspoons of ground ginger, also to the sauce. My pie was baked for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. It is beautiful, and delicious. Thank you for sharing Grandma Ople's recipe. She would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonniSalafia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Godwin
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a FANTASTIC pie! Pouring the sugar mixture over the crust is the kicker. Gives the top crust a nice, sticky goodness. I followed the recipe exactly & only added some ground cinnamon & cloves to the sugar mixture. Simple to make & flavor is so good. Grandma Ople sure knew what she was doing with this pie. Great, great, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Godwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BCARROLL924
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My husband and daughter just told me this might be the best dessert I've EVER made! Only slight change was I added a bit of cinnamon to the sugar/butter mix. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Fabulous! Easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States