Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Well, this was my first apple pie. I baked rhubarb pie last week which came out so wonderfully. That recipe was also from this site. My hubby loved it, too and he asked me to try an apple pie next. Gaining confidence from that rhubarb pie, I thought "Why not". Well, I liked it enough but I didn't really see any 5 star quality at all. I'm more on the 3.5 side but didn't want to give 3 so I'm going with 4. I followed the recipe but used 9.5 inch pan. I used 8 medium size granny smith and for 9.5 inch pan, I thought it was the right amount or maybe just a little over. It did overflow but luckily I had the pie dish that had crust edge thingy. So it didn't ruin my oven(also I had a pan underneath just in case). My 9 inch pie crust was a tad short of filling the pie dish nicely so sealing the top crust and the bottom one was a bit of a challenge. Overall, it did come out fine but I'm not sure if I would try it again though. I thought it wasn't anything special or unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Another great review for this recipe!! This was amazingly delicious!! I added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla extract as well. I made it for my husband for Father's Day. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Good, very sweet. Needs cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made this last night-- delicious! I followed the suggestions and mixed in most of the syrup with the apples. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Loved this recipe. The while family raved over how good it was. I basically only used the sauce and added pumpkin pie spice to it. Easy trick I have learned, add tapioca pearls to the bottom pie shell before adding your Apple mixture. Keeps the crust from going soggy. I also made pie crust from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanDee Walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
The main issue of this recipe is the crust. I would like the recipe please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Follow the directions and this is perfection. Do anything else and it won't be quite right. Wonderful directions, wonderful flavor; this pie gets me a ton of compliments whenever I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is so good! I followed a bunch of suggestions from other reviewers. These include: adding 1tsp cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, 1T vanilla, 2T flour, 1T cornstarch, cloves, allspice to the syrup before simmering (minus the water). Also, I mixed the syrup with apples and saved some for the glaze on top. I used a 9" glass pie plate and baked on the middle shelf. The syrup for the glaze needs to be hot. Also, I brushed egg white on the bottom crust, put a baking tray covered in foil underneath to catch the drips. Bake at 350 degrees to minimize scorching. Prepare lattice and garnishes ahead and keep in fridge. Finally, 10min before pie is done, brush with a little milk and sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 5,909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States