Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Best caramel apple pie i've ever had! I had rave reviews. This was my first time trying this pie, but it turned out great. I took all the recommendations and it turned out perfect. I now have to make this again for all those friends and family who didn't get to try it. Don't look for any more recipes - this is it!! I used 5 average sized granny smith apples. The tartness from the granny smith balances nicely with the caramel sauce. I mixed most of the caramel sauce with the apple slices before putting the slices in the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franneh
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
5 stars, and almost 6000 reviews? I had to see what the hype was all about for myself. Made this pie over the weekend and it was such a success. I followed the recipe and incorporated some of the tips that the top reviewers posted (i.e. add a dash of cinnamon, bake on middle shelf, use 2/3 of syrup for filling and the rest for the glaze over crust, and bake for an hour at 350) Also - don't forget to let the pie cool for a few hours before slicing so as to avoid a runny mess. Excellent recipe. This will be going into the recipe book permanently. Thank you, Grandma Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Really good. I was skeptical at first thinking the liquid would just sit on top of the crust and not bake in with the apples. It turned out perfect though. I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Believe the hype!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
It's soooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Well, this was my first apple pie. I baked rhubarb pie last week which came out so wonderfully. That recipe was also from this site. My hubby loved it, too and he asked me to try an apple pie next. Gaining confidence from that rhubarb pie, I thought "Why not". Well, I liked it enough but I didn't really see any 5 star quality at all. I'm more on the 3.5 side but didn't want to give 3 so I'm going with 4. I followed the recipe but used 9.5 inch pan. I used 8 medium size granny smith and for 9.5 inch pan, I thought it was the right amount or maybe just a little over. It did overflow but luckily I had the pie dish that had crust edge thingy. So it didn't ruin my oven(also I had a pan underneath just in case). My 9 inch pie crust was a tad short of filling the pie dish nicely so sealing the top crust and the bottom one was a bit of a challenge. Overall, it did come out fine but I'm not sure if I would try it again though. I thought it wasn't anything special or unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Another great review for this recipe!! This was amazingly delicious!! I added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla extract as well. I made it for my husband for Father's Day. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Good, very sweet. Needs cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made this last night-- delicious! I followed the suggestions and mixed in most of the syrup with the apples. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 5,895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States