Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I dont see the big whoop. it wasn't thaaaaaaaaaaaat good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Was delicious but next time I will only add a 1/4 tsp and will add 1 tsp of lime juice to give it some zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I didn't like this recipe too much. it lacked a lot of flavor. Next time I'll boost the brown sugar, add vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cintia Lanton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great! I added spice and I burnt the crust a bit but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Family absolutely loves this recipe! Very easy and comes out perfect every time! We substitute the Marie Calendar's ready made frozen pie crust and use the Pillsbury refrigerated pie dough to make the lattice strips on top. Be ready for a mess though!!!...but nothing a cookie sheet placed underneath the pie won't fix!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Amazing, finally found a way to make my in-laws like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Reduced sugar to 1/3 cup each and added a pinch of cinnamon. Turned out perfectly as I prefer my pies sourish and tangy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby zuby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This is the only apple pie recipe you'll ever need! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My first use of this recipe was to use up some extra pastry dough that I had left over. I scaled back all the ingredients proportionate to one serving and simply wrapped sliced apples in the dough and poured the sauce in an opening that I left at the top. I followed the ingredients and the cooking temperature closely. The 'pasty' set beautifully ( not runny or gooey as others experienced) and the flavour was very good. I am looking forward to making a full pie, but the 1 star reviews have me a bit worried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I have no plans to make this one again and may not even get through the pie that I made. I followed the recipe as written, but did add 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla as suggested in previous reviews. I do not feel that adding the additional spices compromised the pie. Actually, I couldn't imagine enjoying it without some spice. This pie is soupy and extremely sweet. My crusts baked just fine and the pie was beautiful going in and coming out of the oven. But I knew right away not to get my hopes up as far as being able to successfully slice it. Far too much liquid. I think the only way to serve the end result would be to warm up a few spoon fulls of it in a bowl and top it with some vanilla ice cream to cut the overpowering sweetness and flavor. Onto the next.. Back to testing out more classic recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 5,939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States