Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Excellent! I followed another review and made the following adjustments to the sugar mixture - added 1 TBS of vanilla added 1 tsp of cinnamon added a dash of nutmeg I mixed 3/4 of the sugar mixture in with the apples and poured the rest on top. I also used a lattice crust topping. I will say, it is tart, and I don't like tart. However, I feel the tartness enhanced the flavor of the pie. Can't wait to make for Thanksgiving and show off my newest pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Made it directly off the recipe Was tart and inedible. I've been cooking for many years and teach cooking classes. This recipe is not all that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartshorne, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was the best Apple Pie ever!!!! I follow the directions every step of the way and have made this recipe 3 times. It always comes out perfect!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Best apple pie ever. Used 6 Mcintosh apples instead of Granny Smith. Added 1 tsp cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1 tbsp vanilla and decreased water by 1 tbsp as suggested by others. Not sure way some posters syrups over thickened unless they were over cooked. I brought mine to a boil then reduced to a simmer. Poured beautifully over apples I placed in the pie pan reserving about 1/4 cup to brush on top crust (did not lattice). If this pie is eaten warm it will be soupy not a bad thing if that is what you are after. I let mine come to room temp then microwaved to rewarm. Served with Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream and OMGOSH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by Mare
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I messed up a little because I boiled the sugar mixture a little too long which made it too thick to pour well. The flavor was awesome though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Yum, yum, yum. Thank you Grandma Ople!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
A little too fattening for me but very very good. I think that its better to let the sauce simmer while your putting your apples in and making the top layer of the crust. Ive made this pie 4 times. Very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Chamberlain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigBigKitties
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This recipes is SO delicious. I have made it several times; once as a normal size pie, and twice as mini pies (bite size!). I like vanilla and cinnamon in it, so I substituted 1 Tbsp of vanilla and used only 3 Tbsp of water. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon. When doing the tiny version, I had to cut everything in half and it was still tasty. Also, if you try mini's, I suggest tossing the apples in the juice rather than pouring it over the top. It is WAY more difficult because of the size. I brushed left over juice on the tops for the caramelized effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
The very first time I made this apple pie recipe it tasted like I was a professional! The best tasting home made recipe I've ever had in my life! Thank you Allrecipe.com??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 6,280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States