Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The filling made the crust mushy. It also wasn't all that sweet, but with vanilla ice cream it was pretty good. Not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was incredible! I had developed a crust I really like, but could never get the filling quite right. I tried this today and loved it! All I had were honeycrisp apples but they turned out amazing nonetheless. I put an extra tablespoon of flour, as honeycrisps tend to produce more juice. I also added 1 T vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. I didn't add nutmeg...for me, less is more when it comes to spices. I just added the apples to the syrup , mixed it together and poured it all into my pie shell. Amazing. Even my husband, whose grandmother set the bar pretty high when it came to apple pies, said he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this as is. It needs adjustments. Daughter says its too sweet; I think it lacks flavor also. Disappointed; middle was liquid; will have to eat this with a spoon or throw in the blender with booze for a fancy cocktail. Directions do not state how long you should simmer the "sauce" or what its consistency should be when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I had my doubts as to if this would cook appropriately. It's such a different way to prepare pie! But it was beautiful, impressive and above all tasty! Be sure to follow the instructions. Don't do like Lorilynn did (see her review) and mix the filling with the apples. It doesn't work that way which is why hers didn't pan out. Plus you'll miss out on the tasty caramelized top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Gable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colusa, California, USA
Living In: Hot Sulphur Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
After reading many of the reviews for this pie, I was expecting the earth to move and to hear Handel's hallelujah chorus when I tasted it. It did not, I am sad to say. I listened to most of the reviews and did not change one. Single. Thing. It took so much self control to not add any nutmeg or vanilla or even salt. I didn't have any problems baking it or with pouring the syrup. It just tasted like a regular old apple pie. Sorry, Grandma Ople. It looks like my quest for the perfect apple pie continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
My husband and his best friend raved over this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I used a package of refrigerated pie crusts due to time constraints and added vanilla extract and cinnamon as suggested by others. It was amazing!!! The filling was perfectly syrupy without being thin and the flavor was great. I've made apple pie before but never liked it enough to even keep the recipe. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Best apple pie I ever made, and very easy. The only changes I made was I added about a 1/2 tablespoon of cornstarch to my mix, 1/4 tsp of allspice, and 1 level tsp of good cinnamon. Best apple pie ever. I cooked it exactly as recipe called for. I baked mine in a white corningware pie plate on the next to the top rack. It came out perfect cooked exactly like the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is unique and incredibly delicious! My husband was so impressed with the flavor, he said he could eat the whole thing. I followed the recipe exactly as stated, and although I was hoping it would be a thicker sauce, the flavor outshines the fact it was a "thin" mixture. I'm anxious to make this again and perhaps I'll add some corn starch, otherwise this is a recipe I will be repeating several times. Thank you for sharing and I think my Grandma would approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 5,905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States